We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"smart, powerful women"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Don Mario

Save Saved
You added Posada Don Mario to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Don Mario
Cosijopi 219, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 85 Specialty lodging in Oaxaca
Fresno, California
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"smart, powerful women"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

As I was about to post a review of my pleasant stay in Oaxaca, I noticed another...("like a cell").......I emphatically request that you remove it from your site...what sort of person writes a hit-piece about a $25 Mexican Posada?..
The inaccuracies contained in this venomous diatribe are reason enough to remove the review before it does fiscal damage to the victims of it, and discourages other visitors from visiting a very nice Posada.
I gladly take this opportunity to describe, accurately, the Posada Don Mario as I found it in June 2011.
In the 70's I would walk 5-10 K with my backpack just to save a buck, now I'll give that buck to a taxi driver, it's good for Mexico, and it's definately good for me. I consider the Posada Don Mario to be a well-spent $25. They don't pretend to be a suitcase hotel or the cheapest night's sleep in town, although the entirely satisfactory, (& complimentary) breakfast is a money saver and of equal importance perhaps, it brings the guests together in the morning for 'cultural exchange'. It is genuine comfort, care and service in a family-friendly environment. During my week there, two young backpacking couples with nursing babies' stayed with us, it was a delight, (they had been turned away from other places.) They are a family-owned-family-run Posada and La Senora and her daughter live there-it's their home. Posada Don Mario has a premium location, the perfect distance from the Zocalo, (quiet at night), a world-class view from the roof patio, good internet, fans, and everything is mopped everyday, usually by a Oaxacanera maid, returned from the US, where she lived for decades-she speaks fair English and is a good cook. The traditional, festive, Mexican pastel-palate is in full-play throughout, my room had coral and turquoise walls with purple acscents....muy alegre baby.!
It's highly educated staff includes a university degree in tourism. They are a class act and the only place in Oaxaca to respond to my email inquiries prior to my trip. Attentive to my every need, these smart, powerful, beautiful women run a very good business, and it's my new home in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    4
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
20
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This hotel is a charming little posada within walking distance of the zocalo. Norma and her staff are friendly and helpful. The price is reasonable and includes breakfast. The rooms are basic but clean and it is quiet. A room on the third floor will give you a 360 degree view of Oaxaca. The dramatic skies and sunsets are free!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

We had booked 3 nights here in a private room before we arrived, but left after only one night, mainly because our room was very poor. It was small and dark, and with twin beds, though we had booked a double. No other room was available. The blankets were inadequate to keep us warm, and as Norma is not at the hostel at night, we had to bear it.

Furthermore, the wifi was intermittent, no matter where you were in the hotel - it was not due to poor signal.

The 'continental' breakfast is toasted bread & butter and a small bowl of fruit with guava paste, plus a small glass of orange juice. The 'economical' breakfast is a modest portion of eggs, with beans and tortillas. Nothing special, but it was ok.

We found that Norma was helpful if she thought she could sell you something, and otherwise not particularly interested in her guests. Once we told her we were leaving, she was only just civil.

The bathrooms were relatively clean but sometimes the showers didn't work, at all.

On the plus side, the roof and second floor courtyard were very pleasant, I had a good night's sleep, and the towels were nice. The best part was the other guests, who were lovely.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

The Posada Don Mario is within walking distance to all the tourist sites, restaurants, and bars but far enough away to offer peace and quiet. The patio, where one can eat a full or Continental breakfast (included in the room price), use the computer, or find an interesting read from the library/bookcase, is lovely--, as was my comfortable, clean and colorful room. The owner, Norma, was friendly and informative. She even gave me a back rub at no extra charge! I will be back next time I'm in Oaxaca.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

I stayed in the Posada Don Mario during Easter week. The place is very well run and the service is excellent. It's clean, reasonably priced, closed to the center, and quiet. It has a wonderful view from the top terrace. There are lots of green cheerful places to lounge around and relax in.
I can highly recommend the Posada and wish Sra. Norma all the best.









Very special

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

small room,the ceiling is low,the air in the room is close and there is a big noisy fan.
they clean only bathroom,not room's floor,so my sole become black.
morning time they played one song over and over loundly,that makes me crazy.
location is not so bad.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

This hotel was very noisy and the staff did nothing to enforce a quiet time. It was not very clean either. The continental breakfast consisted of luke warm coffe, and a few pieces of fruit with so called granola sprinkled on top. The "granola" practically tbroke my teeth. I stayed in more restful places in Oaxaca that did not advertise themselves as something more than they were for less money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Don Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Don Mario

Address: Cosijopi 219, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 85 Specialty lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Don Mario, an ideal place to stay, is the house where the famous Oaxaca painter Rufino Tamayo was born in. The service at the Posada as well as its availability and price make it your best option for somewhere to stay. Situated in Carmen Alto, it is the only completely colonial area of the Historical Center of the City of Oaxaca.From the rooftop of the Posada Don Mario you can enjoy a wonderful view of the places mentioned above. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Posada Don Mario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Don Mario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.