We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous value in Oaxaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman
Save
You added Hotel Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman to your Saves list
Macedonio Alcala 804 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tremendous value in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed here for a week during Day of the Dead celebrations this year - and enjoyed our stay immensely. This was probably our sixth or seventh stay at the Parador over the last ten years, and we have enjoyed each one. The historic center of Oaxaca is now filled with boutique hotels, many of which are beautifully decorated, but that have very impractical rooms. We have stayed at a few where all the furniture was wrought iron--not good to sit on for more than a few minutes. At the Parador, on the other hand, the decoration is quite plain, but the suites are spacious. In the livingroon there is a sofa that can seat three, plus one or two comfortable chairs. The kitchen has a table seating four; bedrooms are large with two queen beds. The parador is on Macedonia Alcala, the pedestrian walkway, just a 10-15 minute walk from the zocalo; a terrific location close to the action, but not right in the middle of the noise. The staff is very friendly, especially if you make overtures to chat with them. And the parador is one of the few hotels in central Oaxaca with a pool. Granted, it's pretty small, but it's well-maintained and is nice to cool off in after a hot afternoon's outing to Monte Alban or a village. And the cost? Currently around $60/night, including taxes. It is a great bargain. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Oaxaca.

Room Tip: The building has three floors. If you don't have trouble climbing stairs, the top floor is proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Management needs to be more aware and proactive regarding noisy guests. I have listened to a group of Spanish speaking kids and adults behave verbally atrociously for the past two weeks of a four week stay by me. There lack of civility regarding other guests is unconscionable. Where is management in requesting that these people quiet down?

This is otherwise a fine facility in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

We stayed here for 2 and 1/2 weeks in December 2010. We were very pleased with all the space--bedroom, living room and having kitchen with continuous supply of purified water. Kitchen supplies are minimal but we mainly used the coffee maker, microwave and fridge. The decor is plain but the place was clean and daily maid service was provided. Great hot water supply for showers. Also there is an amazing amount of closet and shelf space in the bedroom. We had cable TV. The location is great---two blocks north of Santo Domingo church and just around the corner one block from Conzatti Park. There is a grocery store a few blocks away on Reforma. Parking space is provided. Free internet use in the lobby. Javier, the manager, and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. I have stayed closer to the zocolo before but much prefer this quieter north location and it is a lovely 6 block walk down Acala to the Zocolo. We spent lots of time at El Llano Parque for all of the Virgin of Guadalupe feastday festivities the weekend of Dec 12. El Llano is also a short distance from the hotel. I would certainly stay here again. Don't miss the great tortes at the food trailer, La Hormiga, in Conzatti Park. Also, great comida daily at Rincon Oxaqueno on block south of the hotel. Lots of great places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Parador whenever we visit Oaxaca for the past 15 years. Perfect location, wonderful staff, squeeky clean rooms, restaurants nearby, cute little pool and great price! The decorating is a little drab, but I fill the sitting room with flowers and the textiles I find there and///there you go....it feels like home. A remarkable bargain.
Barb

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depoe Bay, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman is more of an apt. or condo vs. a hotel. We had an very clean one bedroom, bathroom, full kitchen and living area. Daily maid service. Bottled water always put in our room. The management is always on site and extremely helpful. It is a small complex with a swimming pool. You can easily walk to the main area of Oaxaca. But yet, far enough away so you get away from some of the street noise in the Zocalo. The only down side is because most leave their windows open all the time, noise from talking/laughing in other apts. can be heard. There is no air conditioning, but again, the cross breeze from leaving windows open worked well. Oaxaca is 5000 ft elevation, therefore does not get as hot as some other area. Really a fabulous town and area.

  • Liked — Separate bedroom, living room, kitchen and the location.
  • Disliked — Noise from other apts.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman

Address: Macedonio Alcala 804 | Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 110 Hotels in Oaxaca
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman has 18 suites, roomy and nicely decorated in the Mexican style. The Suites have 2 queen size beds, private bathrooms, living rooms, dining room and kitchen with all the necesities. Security boxes as well as internet connection in each room and wireless (wi-fi) all over, swiming pool with a protected shallow side for kids and resting areas along the pool, private parking, and restaurant are part of our facilities, as well as the best personalized service. All of this with an affordable price. Major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parador Santo Domingo de Guzman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.