We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“immaculate, secure, warm atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast at the Oaxaca Learning Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oaxaca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed & Breakfast at the Oaxaca Learning Center
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast at the Oaxaca Learning Center to your Saves list
Murguia #703, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“immaculate, secure, warm atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

The Learning Center Bed and Breakfast in Oaxaca is an inviting, immaculately clean, and very secure place to stay in Oaxaca. Both rooms in the inner courtyard look out onto a beautiful small garden with a fountain that makes a tranquil background sound. Because both B & B rooms are inside the courtyard, the rooms receive little of the city noise. The very polite students that study at the Learning Center brighten up the atmosphere during the day. As an added bonus, you many volunteer to have intercambios (practice English/ Spanish) with the students, you help them practice their English, and they help you with your Spanish. All in all a warm, friendly, inviting place where 100% of the funds raised from the B&B support the programs and operation of The Oaxaca Learning Center.

  • Liked — warm atmosphere, clean, safe
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
14
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Califonria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

The B&B at TOLC is a delightful place to stay and enrich your experience with Oaxacans and Oaxaca. I stayed in one of the rooms with private bath. They’re on the small side but very clean and comfortable. I brought a laptop and had easy access to the Internet. There are also computers available for guests to use. Guests can use the kitchen and washing machine free. As other reviewers have noted, TOLC provides tutorial services to Oaxacan students. It can be a bit noisy at times but I like the energy of the place. The opportunity to interact with students, staff and other guests is a major advantage over other places. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The owner, Gary Titus, is providing a valuable service for Oaxacan students. I was very happy that my tourist dollars were helping support TOLC. Do use the hammocks, at your own risk of course, because you won’t want to get up again. Gary is a fount of knowledge about other places not usually mentioned in guidebooks. Ask Gary about his favorite place for hot chocolate and the restaurant for fabulous corn tortillas (not that there’s a dearth of wonderful places to eat in Oaxaca). I took classes at the Oaxaca Spanish Magic School, near Santo Domingo, a 15 min walk from TOLC and recommend it highly. I’m a single, older woman, traveling alone and couldn’t have felt more comfortable and safe here.

  • Liked — Interaction with host, students, guests, location, cleanliness, value
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

I'd recommend the bed and breakfast to anyone wanting to get to know Oaxaca and its people as well as just seeing the sites. As well as a B&B the building hosts a centre to support young people's education. It's great having classrooms and young people learning just around the corner from where the bedrooms are. And it's nice to know that the money raised is used to educate the young people studying at the centre.

I was able to practice my Spanish and also teach English to very interested and keen students. It was a joy to be part of such a project in such a positive atmosphere.

As well as the place being an inspiration for me, the breakfast was good too!

Ollie

  • Liked — Being surrounded by keen students
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed three nights at the Center and we love with the place. Practically speaking the rooms are smallish, simple but great and extremely clean, the garden is small but beautiful and the location is good, close enough to the centre but far enough to feel private, but the foremost reason for staying at B&B is the charismatic Gary and the whole idea of supporting youth of Oaxaca while on vacation. The breakfast is delicious, fresh and healthy and Gary is nice company during it. Even despite the fact that the classes are held close to the rooms, we never heard any disturbing noise. Gary is an intriguing person to talk with and extremely helpful. We felt welcomed and safe in a personal way during our whole stay and the overall atmosphere is very nice. In general, Oaxaca is an amazing city with beautiful architecture, lots of culture and a soul.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — leaving the place
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selmacooper@yahoo.com
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

I have spent two months for the past four years at the B&B Learning Center. They have been wonderful experiences.....The accomodations are very comfortable and the people are very special and helpful. Because it is also a learning center you can intereact with the students if you choose which, for me, makes it most meaningful. I am a single older woman and I wouldn't choose to stay anywhere else in Oaxaca. It has become a second home!!!!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Learning Center for two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms were super clean and nicely appointed. The people at the Learning Center were super nice, very knowledgable about Oaxaca and introduced us to some of the students who are studying there. English is well spoken and everyone is willing to help with your Spanish too. The owner, Gary Titus, a San Franciscan who has been in Oaxaca a number of years, went out of his way to make us feel welcomed. We also felt very good about the fact that by renting the room we were helping to support the good work being done with young Oaxacans.

  • Liked — Its central location and its atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothiing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

My teenage son and I went to Oaxaca for spring break and had a great time at the Learning Center. We immediately made ourselves at home and everyone there was fun to talk to . We are still talking about the homemade yogurt, granola and tropical fruit salad we had each morning.
Recently, new friends that we met at the Learning Center sent us photos . They brought back great memories of swinging in the hammock or sitting on the patio amidst tropical plants and socializing with the other guests and staff.
It was close enough to the Zocalo (tourist center 7 blocks away) to walk once or twice a day, but far enough to be quiet at night.
This is a simple B& B with that supports the social mission of the Learning Center to help kids from Oaxaca state get an education. My son appreciated internet access in our room and talking with the young guys that work there. I appreciated contributing to their work and talking to Gary . I was able to do laundry, use their computer and Gary gave advice and help with travel plans.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — Oaxaca water supply is not good
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast at the Oaxaca Learning Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast at the Oaxaca Learning Center

Address: Murguia #703, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Oaxaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Oaxaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our comfortable and friendly B&B is a socially responsible accommodation that helps local youth. We have two pleasantly-appointed bedrooms with private tiled baths and a rooftop self-sufficient, fully equipped one-bedroom apartment. All accommodation includes comfortable beds, fans, telephones, DSL connections and continental breakfast. The B&B is part of the storefront Learning Center - a life skills and tutoring program for young people from rural villages. 100% of the funds raised from the B&B support the programs and operation of The Learning Center. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast at the Oaxaca Learning Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.