We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for mole tasting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Los Pacos

Los Pacos
Av. Belisario Dominguez 108-1, Col. Reforma | Abasolo 121, Centro Historico, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
951 5161704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 239 restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Only for mole tasting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Last night I went to Los Pacos for something other than the mole they are known for. I ordered "brocheta" and instead got pieces of chopped meat that looked more like "puntas de filete". I objected and the owner said, "too bad, you ordered it and you must pay for it". So, I asked him to put it in a bag to give to a dog. So, stick to the mole, as the tasting and the mole are very good here and this is their secret. And, it is why they feel they can have a "take it or leave it" attitude. It would be nice if all the elements could come together!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    31
    23
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Authentic Oaxaquenan Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I've been to this friendly, family owned restaurant multiple times when I visit Oaxaca on business. As my business associates in Oaxaca are friends and relatives of the owners, I've been fortunate to go back into the kitchen as well as the area where they make the seven trypes of fresh Moles. I've been to many restaurants in Oaxaca during my business trips and I can say that the Mole at Los Pacos is the best I've had. Some of the Moles take 5 days to prepare! Don't forget to try the Chapulines on small tortillas with either Guacamole or the fresh local cheese. For dessert, try the Tuna / burnt milk ice cream or the fantastic pan de elote made by Laura's mother. They treat me like family and they will treat you like family as well.

Fantastico !!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“It was the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Here, you have the chance to try 7 different moles, and then decide which one is the favorite as your main course served with chicken. Try the "tlayudas" (very big and light tortillas with cream, salsa and cheese).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tak, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hearty Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Nice place and tasty steak covered in cheese. Well appointed and excellent service. Fine dining, Oaxacan style.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mole magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

A great place to start your culinary experience in Oaxaca. The mole sampler that starts off your meal gives you an opportunity to taste six different kinds. To each their own regarding sweet, bitter or rich as the predominant taste. The vegetable soup of the day was outstanding. Great selection of Tobalá mexcals as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Pacos also viewed

 

Been to Los Pacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Pacos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.