We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT CHOICE TO STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa de la Abuela

La Casa de la Abuela
Hidalgo 616, Oaxaca, Mexico
(951) 516-3544
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 255 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Covina, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“GREAT CHOICE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Excellent food. like home made, authentic Oaxacan food. its in second floor with great views to the socalo.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    58
    23
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable meal in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We went for dinner and had a table by the window overlooking the bustling Zocalo. The location was superb, there was live music in the Zocalo which we could listen to as we ate and took advantage of the great people-watching. The restaurant is nicely decorated, and it is quiet inside so that you can appreciate the music and revelry below and still have a lovely chat over dinner. The food is typical Oaxacan, and ours was quite tasty. We are vegetarians and the staff was extremely helpful and accommodating and made lovely dishes. While the place is on the expensive side relative to other places in Oaxaca, the location, ambiance, and great service we received definitely made it worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent mole and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We loved this basic restaurant and had an incredible mole negro on our first night in Oaxaca. The restaurant is nothing fancy but provides a wonderful meal with a great view of the zocalo from the 2nd story windows. Put it on your restaurant list, it will not disappoint.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great home style Oaxacan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This restaurant, located on the corner of the Zócalo and with views to it is a perfect place to sit down, relax and sample great Oaxacan food. We are Mexican and go there often. The food is straighforward, such as you would find in the food market, but here you can have drinks and be waited on and try various starters, soups, main courses and desserts. The black mole was excellent, as were the stuffed "chiles pasilla" and the "tlayuda con tasajo" (a large crunchy and thin tortilla with 'asiento'-tasty pork fat, beans, cheese and cured, salted beef to which you add salsa). The grasshoppers are also great to sample as are various other dishes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Mixed reviews from those in my group of 7”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Best thing was the atmosphere and the view of the Zocalo. The service was also excellent, I ordered tortilla soup, which is my favorite Mexican dish that I try to sample at all Mexican restaurants. It was good, but not hot, the way I like it, (temperature). I don't even remember what I ate as my entree, it was forgettable. But thank goodness for the hot chocolate, that was great. My friends who had touristy type food like tacos, were satisfied. The one who tried the sampler was disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa de la Abuela also viewed

 

Been to La Casa de la Abuela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa de la Abuela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.