We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catedral Restaurante & Bar

Catedral Restaurante & Bar
GarcIa Vigil 105 | Colonia Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
529515163285
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Catedral Restaurante & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 350 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gwangju, South Korea
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stumbling in to Oaxaca on Easter Sunday, I was worried there wouldn't be a restaurant open. The first place we came to was Catedral, and it was so good we came back again before leaving the city. The pork ribs in mole verde are crispy on the outside and melt-in-your-mouth, fall-off-the-bone wonderful on the underside. The zucchini greens soup was also delicious and filling (I had trouble eating my main dish after the soup because it was such a large bowl and came with arrachera on the side!) Would happily return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FullPassportTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went for lunch recently, and I must say it surpassed my expectations. The service was great and very attentive, and the food was magnificent. It's a great place to eat traditional food with a twist. I recommend the pasta with grasshopper sauce and the pork.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bianibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“very good although not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

There are many fine restaurants serving good Oaxacan food. The simple ones cost about US$3 for a good meal, the more upscale ones about US$10. I wanted to try some top end gourmet ones that offer New style Mexican or fusion cooking and that is what I am reviewing. They all cost about US$20 unless noted. Service and ambiance is good at all the ones I tried.
4 stars: Catedral. I had pork with a chile pepper marmalade. it was very good and attractively served. most dishes are standard mexican served in the new style.
5 stars: The best one by far is Origen. It has an extremely varied menu and I went several times
Other 4 stars: I also went to Danzantes and Casa Oaxaca. These were all good and similar price except Casa Oaxaca which is about $35 average. They each had one or two unusual dishes but menus were mainly Mexican standard but served more attractively often in new style..
2 stars: I also went to Café Bistrot Epicurio. Same price but pretty disappointing.
Several of these have one or 2 microbrewery beers but Origen has 8 to choose from.
I have written reviews of all these others.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank VancouverRainforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cinco Estrellas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

An amazing evening with great food, service and ambiance. After two weeks of living and dining in Oaxaca, I thought that I had tried all of the best places in the city and surrounding countryside. Man, am I glad that we stumbled into this place! A great place to have your first Chapulines (Grasshoppers) experience, expand your mole definitions and save room for dessert. The service here is friendly and responsive without overwhelming your casual diners. Thank you to the service crew and the Chefs on the night of January 14th!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Krys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgardo A, Owner at Catedral Restaurante & Bar, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Krys,

On behalf of the entire team of the Restaurant Catedral I would like to thank you very much for your kind comments.

We hope that the next time you come back to Oaxaca you will visit us again.

Best regards,

Edgardo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A tasteless experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Sometimes you can't believe everything you read it seems. Based on good reviews, we went to Catedral on arriving in Oaxaca. We ordered the Oaxacan platter for two and it was so bland. We were given no cutlery to eat it with and some of the meal was just left on another table. We had to get up and collect it and then ask to make sure it was indeed part of our meal. We arrived after travelling through Mexico for two months and it was without doubt the worst meal of our trip. It was also so dark in the courtyard that I needed to use the light on my phone to read the menu and I struggled to work out what I was eating due to the ack of light and flavour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jedpitm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgardo A, Owner at Catedral Restaurante & Bar, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catedral Restaurante & Bar also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Catedral Restaurante & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing