We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious! Fabulous service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catedral, Restaurante & Bar

Catedral, Restaurante & Bar
Garcia Vigil 105 | Colonia Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
951 516 3285
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 241 restaurants in Oaxaca
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Delicious! Fabulous service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Catedral was a fantastic meal! We enjoyed everything we ordered from the wine, to the appetizers, soups, salads and entrees. Everything was fresh and delicious. The salsa made table side was a particular highlight. It was about 80 dollars for three people. What a deal for fine service, food and ambiance. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    122
    43
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of the top restaurants in Oaxaca, but not perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

After reading several reviews, I went to Catedral to see if it lived up to the hype. The person who joined me lived in Oaxaca for 5 years. I am a food lover, I often go to top rated restaurants and food tastings, so I admit I have high standards. Here is my opinion:

Positives:
Overall, a gorgeous setting and top top service.
A nice selection of various dishes characteristic of Oaxaca, including worm sauce and black mole... The crepes here are excellent, definitely recommend.
The ravioli with suckling pig also unique, through too salty.

Feels like an expensive 5 star restaurant, but actually is not that much more expensive than some of the other top rated restaurants in town, a good deal.

Negatives:
The food was excellent but not the best I've had in Oaxaca. I tried the black mole, it was complex but too sweet. Also some of the food had too much salt. I suggest ordering sauces (except for moles) without salt, and then add the salt yourself, to suit your tastes.

Overall Catedral is definitely worth a visit. If you are really really into purely food (over atmosphere), there are better places in Oaxaca. But if you want to experience a romantic beautiful setting, five star service and a classic restaurant experience, then this is the place to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Romantic Setting with Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having read mostly glowing reviews, we chose Catredral to have our last night in this gastronomical centre, and it did not disappoint. Excellent service, delicious food and an attentive owner who has given up a career as a lawyer to return to Oaxaca to run the family business. Book in person to secure your table in the courtyard. The pork ribs were especially good: tender and flavourful.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOERNE
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delightful Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We chose to go to the Catedral Restaurant on Sunday afternoon after church, based on trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed! The price of 160 pesos per person, about $12.50, was incredible. The wide range of selections and all you could eat, fit the bill for our one meal out a day routine. Not only was the food delicious, but the service was superior. Oscar, our waiter was the best. I highly recommend the Catedral Restaurant, especially for Sunday brunch.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were devastated that we only discovered Catedral on our last evening in Oaxaca -- otherwise we would have gone there every night. Having heard that Oaxaca had the best cuisine in Mexico, we'd been disappointed so far. But Catedral was a revelation.
It's in a beautifully restored old mansion, with a lovely indoor patio. Nothing folkloric here: the colours are deep and dramatic, and the ambience is stylish and sophisticated. As was the service. The food was outstanding; this is a long-established family-run restaurant which apparently bases its menu around dishes which the owner's mother refined from traditional Oaxacan recipes. It's very polished, and a different world from most of the "typical Mexican" tourist restaurants in town. A must if you're in Oaxaca...and don't leave it till your last day.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catedral, Restaurante & Bar also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca

Been to Catedral, Restaurante & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catedral, Restaurante & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.