We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's wrong with being a tourist?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Danzantes

Los Danzantes
Calle Macedonio Alcala No. 403-4, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
+52 951 501 1184
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Danzantes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 280 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Los Danzantes is a complete experience for all the senses: food, mezcal, service, decoration, ambience and music join to get that result. Traditional with a touch of nouveau ceeating a relaxing environment perfect to enjoy a unique meal! (A customer).
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“What's wrong with being a tourist?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Dinner in Los Danzantes. A real difference in atmosphere and a welcome change eating out in Oaxaca. We really enjoyed our food and the house red was excellent. So, the other guests were tourists.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your opinion, we are glad you enjoyed our win,e ambiance and food, in this time of year we are glad to welcome a lot of tourists in our Restaurant, and are delighted to hear that we can provide a great experience sharing excellent oaxacan food with all our clients. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    174
    50
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Try the holy leaf with goats cheese, the duck tacos and the chocolate waterfall!! To reach this restaurant you must walk into La Casa Vieja and go all the way in until you see Los Danzantes which is on a terrace. It is small but the service is great and the food is amazing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we are delighted to hear you had a great time and enjoyed all our food, we hope to see you again in your next visit to Oaxaca,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Last night dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We ended our vacation with a special dinner here. Service was very good for Oaxaca where it tends to be slow. I'm not crazy about mezcal, but the long list of mezcal cocktails is tempting. A wonderful dining room open to the sky.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Nancy, thank you so much for your comments about your visit to Danzantes, it fills us with joy to hear our service and our food were fit to match your dining experience standards, we really hope to see you again on your next visit to Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very cool restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Amazing decor and lovely surroundings, the food was great but I would advise to book as we managed to talk our way in for a lunch reservation.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, as you mention during vacations we always advise our customers to maketheir reservation in advance since we are fully booked during these days, we are glad you got to try our food end enjoy the whole Danzantes experience during your visit, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“kinda perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Love mexican food, but in this city my wife and I found a perfect place for our romantic dinner...
The place is very very beautiful, the food is delicious, and the service for us was grateful.
In the hotel where we stayed, was the first recommendation of the restaurants around de city, and wow! wonderful.
Thank u.
John.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments John, we are glad you and your wife had such a great experience at Danzantes, we are proud to hear that our service and food fulfilled your expectations; we hope to see you again here on your next visit to Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Danzantes also viewed

 
Oaxaca, Oaxaca
 

Been to Los Danzantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Danzantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.