We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's wrong with being a tourist?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Danzantes

Los Danzantes
Calle Macedonio Alcala No. 403-4, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
+52 951 501 1184
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Danzantes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 319 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Los Danzantes is a complete experience for all the senses: food, mezcal, service, decoration, ambience and music join to get that result. Traditional with a touch of nouveau ceeating a relaxing environment perfect to enjoy a unique meal! (A customer).
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What's wrong with being a tourist?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Dinner in Los Danzantes. A real difference in atmosphere and a welcome change eating out in Oaxaca. We really enjoyed our food and the house red was excellent. So, the other guests were tourists.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCH857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your opinion, we are glad you enjoyed our win,e ambiance and food, in this time of year we are glad to welcome a lot of tourists in our Restaurant, and are delighted to hear that we can provide a great experience sharing excellent oaxacan food with all our clients. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Oaxaca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Try the holy leaf with goats cheese, the duck tacos and the chocolate waterfall!! To reach this restaurant you must walk into La Casa Vieja and go all the way in until you see Los Danzantes which is on a terrace. It is small but the service is great and the food is amazing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jeya_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we are delighted to hear you had a great time and enjoyed all our food, we hope to see you again in your next visit to Oaxaca,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Last night dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We ended our vacation with a special dinner here. Service was very good for Oaxaca where it tends to be slow. I'm not crazy about mezcal, but the long list of mezcal cocktails is tempting. A wonderful dining room open to the sky.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very cool restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Amazing decor and lovely surroundings, the food was great but I would advise to book as we managed to talk our way in for a lunch reservation.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LittleBee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, as you mention during vacations we always advise our customers to maketheir reservation in advance since we are fully booked during these days, we are glad you got to try our food end enjoy the whole Danzantes experience during your visit, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“kinda perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Love mexican food, but in this city my wife and I found a perfect place for our romantic dinner...
The place is very very beautiful, the food is delicious, and the service for us was grateful.
In the hotel where we stayed, was the first recommendation of the restaurants around de city, and wow! wonderful.
Thank u.
John.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnMenek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerente de Rela... P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments John, we are glad you and your wife had such a great experience at Danzantes, we are proud to hear that our service and food fulfilled your expectations; we hope to see you again here on your next visit to Oaxaca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Danzantes also viewed

 

Been to Los Danzantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing