We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Once and Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Danzantes

Los Danzantes
Calle Macedonio Alcala No. 403-4, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
+52 951 501 1184
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Danzantes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 257 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Los Danzantes is a complete experience for all the senses: food, mezcal, service, decoration, ambience and music join to get that result. Traditional with a touch of nouveau ceeating a relaxing environment perfect to enjoy a unique meal! (A customer).
Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Once and Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have dined in this restaurant three times in the last three years and it has never let us down. Food is a great interpretation of Oaxaca's culinary taste.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello, we are honored to receive such a good input in our Restaurant, we are glad to hear you’ve had great experiences once and again, we hope to see you soon again here at Danzantes to repeat this culinary experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    179
    53
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Beach, MI
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

People go back and forth on which restaurant is the best in Oaxaca, but Los Danzantes is usually in the top two or three. We think it belongs in first place, and we make it a point to dine here at least once whenever we're in town. The menu is limited, but everything we've tried has been tasty. The service is faultless and the subdued atmosphere and limited seating make for an intimate and classy experience. There are plenty of good restaurants in Oaxaca, many with lower prices. The value at Los Danzantes lies in the way it blends great food, great service and great surroundings.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we are proud to be called the best restaurant by our clients; we are glad you enjoyed our great food! Hope to see you back soon at Danzantes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Tx Usa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb food in a special occasion atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful meal here with a crisp bottle of Mexican wine. Great service and hand- crafted dishes in a casual but high-end setting. Make this your splurge lunch or dinner. We loved it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi! We are glad to read your comments and insights on your visit to Danzantes, we hope to have you back to enjoy our culinary experience again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“beautiful interior”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Having walked in without reservations, my friend and I opted to dine in the bar. The interior decor was gorgeous, the feeling of dining al fresco. Unfortunately, the cocktails out-shined the food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello! We highly appreciate your comments on your visit to our Restaurant, in order to give a proper follow-up to your opinion we would like to know which food and beverages you tried out in your visit, we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Amazing, fresh, creative cuisine in a beautiful setting. Very affordable for travelers. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our Restaurant, please come again so we can have the pleasure to serve you and bring you great Mexican food experiences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Danzantes also viewed

 

Been to Los Danzantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Danzantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.