We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Menu Del Dia; Presentation; Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Danzantes

Los Danzantes
Calle Macedonio Alcala No. 403-4, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
+52 951 501 1184
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Los Danzantes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 257 Restaurants in Oaxaca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Los Danzantes is a complete experience for all the senses: food, mezcal, service, decoration, ambience and music join to get that result. Traditional with a touch of nouveau ceeating a relaxing environment perfect to enjoy a unique meal! (A customer).
Oaxaca
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Exceptional Menu Del Dia; Presentation; Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I have repeatedly enjoyed dining at Los Danzantes this winter as well as previous years and it's, as of now, our favorite lunch restaurant. Los Danzantes offers a twice weekly (currently Wednesday and Friday) wonderful value menu del dia. So far, the cost has varied from 90 pesos to 120 pesos for the multi-course lunch. Appetizer is usually a choice of soup or another small dish: yesterday it was a "salmon bagel" with goat cheese. The Entree ranges from fish, to pork, to vegetarian. Desserts are lovely: we had our most striking dessert of all time before Christmas, topped by a fan of cotton candy with a delicate orchid blossom. Wow! There is usually a choice of aguas de fruta, a complimentary glass of mezcal, and coffee included. At the moment, one can add a glass of wine for a mere 25 pesos. The presentation of each dish is usually pretty dazzling.

The service is friendly and attentive. The setting, with compacted cars as the bar, a pond with water flowing over metates separates the comfortable smoking lounge; and a high architectural adobe wall, makes for a relaxing, romantic setting.

This is important: one needs to reserve ahead in the week for the menu del dia as only a certain number are prepared each time. Ask to see the written out menus for the two days to see which offerings appeal most. The clientele during the day is mixed Gringo, Mexican National, and Oaxacan. We can only afford to eat here for the menu del dia, which is just fine with us. The offerings change each time and if one dish isn't absolutley fabulous, chances are that the next one will be. The restaurant provides a nice break from the more Oaxacan menu del dia in setting and food presentation. A comment card comes with the check.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
It fills us with joy to read your overall experience in Danzantes, thank you so much for all your comments, we enjoy preparing our menú del día each week to spice up our variety of dishes in our regular menu, our House Chef and invited Chefs create different dishes so they can talk and appeal to a diverse group of visitors, we truly enjoy realizing that we can share this amazing experience with our clients, we look forward to serving you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    179
    53
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Superb dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our third restaurant on our Mexico trip and what an eye opener! Fantastic fusion food and at reasonable prices. Our view of Mexican food changed by the wonderful tastes this restaurant afforded us. However, being spoilt by the high standard proffered here only brought bitter disappointment to all further gastronomic adventures that followed. Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your visit and all your feedback. It fills us with tremendous joy to hear you had such an amazing experience in Danzantes. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ok but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Coming from Boston and NY we were ready for the foodie experiences of Oaxaca. Los Danzantes was high on the list based on reviews and articles. The presentation was great but the taste was mediocre. With the prices near US prices the value for the money was not there. Other places in Oaxaca in far out class this place. The room is very cool and worth a trip or a mexcal to enjoy. Try other spots if you are exploring the food scene in Oaxcaca

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are so sorry to hear we could not satisfy your expectations food and price wise. It would help us to know some additional information of your visit such as day and time of your visit to Danzantes, as well as dishes and desserts you tried, to give a proper follow-up to your comments. We hope to receive a new opportunity to serve you soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We found the meals here were overpowered by the sauces, the ribs were too charred and the vegetables were in short supply. The setting is stunning but it's just not matched by the food. The main meal left us hungry. Dessert was no different. The flavours didn't work.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We are sorry that we could not satisfy your needs. It would be of great help to know what day and at what time you had dinner at Danzantes, as well as what dishes and desserts you tried, to give a proper follow-up to your comments. We are looking forward to the next opportunity to serve you. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wow! Really really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stop by Los Danzantes based on these reviews. And it deserves the highest rating. We rated food 5 because 6+ is not available. Don't hesitate and give it a chance! You won't regret it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gina I, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Los Danzantes, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
It is with great joy that we receive your comments on our Restaurant, we are so happy you’ve got to experience such a great time at Danzantes, we look forward to having you back here soon to enjoy it again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Danzantes also viewed

 

Been to Los Danzantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Danzantes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.