We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all round excellent day with Casa Crespo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Crespo Cooking Class

Casa Crespo Cooking Class
Allende 107 | Centro, Oaxaca 68000, Mexico
(951) 516 0918
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Casa Crespo Cooking Class like an insider
$135*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cooking classes are held at CASA CRESPO Restaurant. Casa Crespo is a cooking school devoted exclusively to the cuisine of Oaxaca. What better way to learn more about this region´s culture than by savoring Oaxacan cuisine?
Useful Information: Stroller parking
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An all round excellent day with Casa Crespo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We booked a Oaxacan cooking class and got so much more.... Oscar the host was just great...informative, patient and keen to get everyone involved. We planned our own menu with him which added to the day and got you keen for your lunch! then headed to the market to buy the ingredients followed by a cooking lesson which involved the whole group. A few beers on his roof terrace followed by our lunch rounded off a great day...my only advice would be to not have too big a breakfast beforehand!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    14
    5
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cooking class where you'll really learn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Walking around Oaxaca we spotted Casa Crespo and the sign for cooking classes. We booked for 2 days away (the next day was already full) and spend a fun 4 hours in the market and then learning to cook a number of Mexican classics - Chille Rellenos, Pumpkin Seed Mole and the most delicious chocolate ice cream (I'm making it at home in the USA today). The class is in English, and easy to follow. Everyone gets to help and make things. The meal at the end was almost too much, and way too good. Mescal to finish of course. If you don't have time to take the class, go for a drink or meal on the lovely roof top terrace overlooking Santa Domingo. Magical in the moonlight.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
“Excellent cooking class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I always try and do a cooking class in every country I visit, and as I'd heard Oaxaca had the best food in Mexico it seemed logical to find one here. Luckily I decided to attend the one offered by Casa Crespa. The tour started at 10am when our chef, Oscar, walked us to the nearby market, explained the local produce to us and bought some things for our class.

We started by making our own tortillas and frying these on the stove in the kitchen. Then we made two different types of salsa (red and green) blending different spices including cumin and the worm used in Mezcal into the red salsa to arrive at different flavours. We then stuffed our tortillas with string cheese and either squash blossoms or grasshoppers. I chose the former, however had to taste at least one grasshopper just to see what it was like – very salty and astringent. We also made one of the hundreds of different types of moles (sauces) to have with chicken – ours used almonds and olives – as well as stone soup.

While we were waiting for the meal to be finished we had drinks in the bar on the restaurant's roof which has beautiful views over the nearby Santo Domingo church.
The meal was great – delicious food and good company. Drinks were included in the cost so we started with beers and then moved onto the house Mezcal. The class was supposed to finish at 2pm but we were having such a good time that we were still sitting at the table at 3pm - and the staff didn't seem to mind continually checking to make sire we had everything we wanted. Brilliant day and would recommend to anyone who wants to get a better understanding of Mexican food. Oscar is a great teacher!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome taste experience in Oaxaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

This is an all day, very intense class & you should know how to handle a knife & follow instructions. .Our class started with selecting the day's recipes to make then a trip to a local market where Oscar explained the array of food, including what we would use for the day's recipes. We got back to his kitchen, put aprons on & started in with our recipes. Very fun hands on cooking.. After we made the mole & the other items we got to take a break on the roof with a cervaza (& avoid the 1 hour stirring the mole). We had an awesome mixed group of people. Our lunch after all the cooking was great. I have made the mole 2 times & it was wonderful! Other recipes were good & easy to recreate. I would take another class with Oscar.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good food but class needs adjustments”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Took a while to get in touch with him and schedule the class. Looked like he was busy all the time with other things so not a lot of attention payed....
The chocolate class was rushed as someone was sitting and waiting for him. so we just threw ingredients, blended, etc. after we came back from molinero with our chocolate paste. Oscar was answering questions if asked but not much more....
Over all. he has a great palate and passion for food. His library at the restaurant is great. Lots of good cook books that he is willing to share with everyone. Great food at his restaurant and the atmosphere.
Not sure how to rate his teaching abilities though... not concentrated, class was rushed. not a lot of explanations unless you ask. over all the class is average at the best.
So go eat at his restaurant (chocolate ice cream with hibiscus is a must, try some mezcal with it) and tap in to his library but look for classes somewhere else.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Crespo Cooking Class also viewed

 

Been to Casa Crespo Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Crespo Cooking Class, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.