We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUA EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaso Restaurant

Jaso Restaurant
88 Newton | Polanco, Mexico City 11570, Mexico
+52 55457476
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Jaso Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #551 of 2,311 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $60 - $130
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Lamartine & Arquimedes Streets
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DELICIOUA EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to Jaso to celebrate my wife's Birthday and were not disappointed. The food was very original, new versions of old dishes, Mexican fusion with top quality ingredients. It is a bit expensive but you might expect that from any restaurant in Polanco. Very nice atmosphere for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    28
    21
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Utter Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It doesn't get any better than Jaso. Consistency and dependability are important attributes that keep me returning to a restaurant each time I have an opportunity, and Jaso exceeds my expectations each time. Honestly, I am leery of inviting out-of-town guests to a nice dinner because of lack of the aforementioned, but Jaso is an exception. The creativity of the chef and the pastry chef continually amaze me. And the service is impeccable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Going to Jaso was a delightful experience. The food was very good and the desserts even better! The service was excellent at the beginning, but by the time we had coffee our table was left alone for a while and no waiter would approach. But still it was a lovely experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Up to par with the best of Mexico City restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Jaso is a gem of a restaurant clearly up to par with Biko, Pujol and Maxximo Bistro in Mexico City. Innovative Mexican cuisine fully leveraging the outstanding variety of Mexican fruits, spices and herbs. Jaso's distinctiveness lies on its chef's DNA ( American with a sweet tooth). Flavors and presentation reminds me of new California cuisine. For example the squid dumplings are a distinctly West Coast creation but with a Mexican twist. In addition Jaso has perhaps the best bakery in Mexico City and the desserts surely are the best of the lot. By all means try the degustation menu - an excellent value for the price paid. If you have room, splurge on the cheese platter - a superb variety of Mexican and European cheeses. Jaso is still one of the few places that serves the rarest of Mexican cheeses - the aged Ramoneti from Ensanada - itself worth the visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place with excellent well executed food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We liked very much the whole experience at Jaso. Good staff (despite they're a bit hurry), cool decoration e very good food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaso Restaurant also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Jaso Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaso Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.