We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing delight !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Tree House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexico City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Tree House
Save
You added The Red Tree House to your Saves list
Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 103 Mexico City B&B and Inns
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What an amazing delight !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

After reading all the reviews I knew I was in for a treat and we definitely were. My friend and I were welcomed by Ernesto Martin with open arms. They knew our names and had been waiting for us.. They took our bags, gave us some tea and made us feel at home within 5 minutes. Our room was lovely, we had a garden room. Not super fancy but ideal for my friend and I. The morning breakfast was great as well as the company we had. All the guest were intriguing and entertaining and we enjoyed our daily breakfast with them. It was like one big family catching up on what we did the day before. Craig is a great host, he is personable, knowledgeable and delightful. He and his staff make you feel like part of the family. We truly enjoyed our trip to Mexico city and I believe a big part of that was our time at The Red Tree house. I hope to visit Mexico city in the near future again and without a doubt I will stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
382
94
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Four of us recently stayed in one of the apartments next door to the hotel as it was a similar price to getting 2 rooms. The apartment has a large fully equipped kitchen that we didn't use but may be useful for a longer stay. Huge couch & dining table. Bedrooms had block out curtains and it was very quiet in the building which equalled excellent sleeping conditions.

The staff are truly delightful and can't do enough to help you. They'll arm you with a map and lots of great recommendations while offering you complimentary beverages at communal happy hour. It's in a lovely part of town with plenty of eating and drinking options within walking distance.
You really won't believe you're actually in a mega city staying
here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I loved this place, after arriving from a very long journey it felt so tranquil! Amazing courtyard for happy hour, lovely staff and beautiful breakfasts. In a lovely area, with lots of nice restaurants near by. Very clean and nice decor. I would come back for sure.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

After years of referring friends, family and colleagues to my old neighbors at the Red Tree House, I finally had an excuse to be a guest for four nights myself, since I moved out of Mexico City recently. Although I was familiar with the staff, service, amenities, etc. it was a real treat to experience everything first hand. Extremely comfortable rooms, not very spacious but you have a entire house to enjoy. I don't know of any other hotel or B&B any where that provides such a full service experience, not just breakfast, but complimentary happy hour, wifi, computer/printer, umbrellas, etc., never charging for any extras. Breakfasts are amazing, and great coffee! The best part is the genuine hospitality by the entire staff, Jorge, Craig, Ernesto, Victor, Alex, etc., everyone will go out of their way to ensure a perfect and comfortable stay. Interesting guests from around the world, as well as lots of locals that also stop by to hang out. Most guests are tourists here on vacation, but it's also a great place to stay for business while in Mexico City, due to the central location, but more importantly it's so much easier to disconnect from work at the end of the day, allowing yourself time to enjoy your visit and relax. Great neighborhood, great location, and very safe! The Red Tree House is a treasure. The only drawback is too many people are discovering this place, and advance reservations are usually required.

Room Tip: All rooms are personally and uniquely designed, small but very comfortable. The benefit is you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We travelled to Mexico City recently to attend a Conference which was to be hosted at a high rise hotel in a different part of the city near the UNAM (University). We arrived 4 days in advance to explore the city on our own, and by chance found The Red Tree House on the internet....The glowing reviews are well deserved, this B&B definitely made our stay extra special...We felt genuinely welcome: loved the spectacularly delicious Mexican breakfasts, the Happy Hour where we met very interesting people, and the whole feel and look of the place...Very tastefully decorated and located in a great area from which it is very easy to explore this very interesting city.
What a contrast it was to have to move to our "fancy" hotel...No comparison to The Red Tree House.. We will be back and many thanks to all our hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is fourth time I have stayed here, and always love it. Rooms are small but lovely, the house itself is fantastic, and the staff is unrivaled. So kind, helpful, and generous. The location is excellent, and while there is no gym, the Qi facility is nearby, and is great. Couldn't ask for better value, location, or comfort. Food in the morning is fantastic.

My only, and very minor, complaint: please, why not try offering whole grain bread in the morning?

Other than that, you are perfect! Don't ever change. I will always try this place first when staying in Mexico City. Reserve early, however, as this place always fills up fast.

Love you guys!

Room Tip: Each room is entirely distinct. All lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This warm, inviting guesthouse will become like your second home when in Mexico City. From the gorgeous design and the inviting courtyard where you meet other interesting guests from around the world, this is a very special place set in the heart of the charming, vibrant Zona Condesa neighborhood. Having stayed here over the years, the Red Tree House has grown from just a few rooms to now encompassing a neighboring building, yet all done in the same professional design and style that one would expect from much more expensive lodgings.

Homemade morning breakfast was always something incredible and a great way to socialize with other travelers before a day of sightseeing or just spending a lazy day at one of the neighborhood cafes.

Best thing about this hotel are the owner's personal touches, their fantastic attentive staff and the fact that you really feel you are truly seeing Mexico City from an insider perspective, being right in the action of a lively neighborhood, not in some highrise hotel in the tourist zone. There are evenings of wine and making new friends as this place attracts a certain type of traveler; those who appreciate art, conversation and most importantly the cultural aspects of Mexico and it's incredible capitol city. I cannot image staying anywhere else while in D.F.

Room Tip: The original "tree house room" is a cozy yet unique space with its own terrace. If you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Red Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Tree House

Address: Culiacan 6 | Colonia Condesa, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, affordable house with rooms to rent in the heart of the vibrant, safe neighborhood of Condesa, in Mexico City. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Red Tree House Hotel Mexico City
The Red Tree House Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Tree House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.