We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian: Tandoor, Condesa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tandoor

Tandoor
Copernico 156, near Polanco, Mexico City 11590, Mexico
(55) 5545-6863
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #266 of 1,806 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Leibnitz
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Indian: Tandoor, Condesa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Newly opened on a quiet corner of the Condesa neighborhood, half block from Parque México and Ecobicis. Impressive lounge downstairs for a drink or massala chai. More modern dining room upstairs (careful with the first half-step on dark stairway). One wing has Indian musicals on LED screen, with decent volume. Good food and sauces/curries, moderate portions. Main dishes about 120-170 pesos. Several dishes marked house or regional specialties. Interesting desserts. Good attention by waiters. Chai didn't surprise me, but then every grandmother must have a different recipe/taste in India. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great food, great environment and great service! The food was excellent and trust me when I say I KNOW Pakistani food but this place was so great. The owner of the restaurant kept coming by every once in a while to make sure we were doing well and enjoying our meal and I must say the Mango Lassi was extraordinary! I loved the old-school Desi mix they had playing as well, they really know how to keep the desi experience in sharp swing. Loved it! Wish there was a branch in Ottawa! Thank you uncle!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best indian food in mexico city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good place to est if you are craving indian food and you are in mexico. The service was bad, but the food really good. Mexico doesnt hace good indian places and this one is a very good one to eat!! I would come back again but with a lot of patience!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Fair Mistake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just went there last week by Mistake.
We were actually walking to a different Indian Restaurant and didn't find it.
We hopped in a Cab and ended up here at Tandoor.
The ambiance is very indian and classy.
After ordering some of their popular dishes we realized that the food was not great, just decent.
We know amazing real Indian food as we are indian.
The prices were average to high but the portions were small.
The naan is not Real naan...it's a mexican tortilla trying to look like real naan.
No regrets just would not go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best there is...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Let's start with the facts....there are few Indian restaurants in Mexico. I've eaten in all of them that I know of, and I believe there are no Indian restaurants outside of D.F. By far, Tandoor is the best, and I've eaten there maybe 15 times. No, maybe the food is not that of a 5 star Indian restaurant, but it's nonetheless quite good, and I haven't encountered the bad service mentioned elsewhere. It sits on a corner with windows that look out into the pleasant neighborhood called Nueva Anzures. Go with an open mind and I don't think you'll be disappointed. It's a good place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.