We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best there is...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tandoor

Tandoor
Copernico 156, near Polanco, Mexico City 11590, Mexico
(55) 5545-6863
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #307 of 1,791 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Leibnitz
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best there is...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Let's start with the facts....there are few Indian restaurants in Mexico. I've eaten in all of them that I know of, and I believe there are no Indian restaurants outside of D.F. By far, Tandoor is the best, and I've eaten there maybe 15 times. No, maybe the food is not that of a 5 star Indian restaurant, but it's nonetheless quite good, and I haven't encountered the bad service mentioned elsewhere. It sits on a corner with windows that look out into the pleasant neighborhood called Nueva Anzures. Go with an open mind and I don't think you'll be disappointed. It's a good place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    18
    27
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Service bad, we eat the food they dont bring a napkin in all the food the waiter dosnt came in all service expensive and no worth it

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in the city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Thia place has by far, the best Indian food in all the city. It's very sad that the service is not only bad but rude and absent at the same time!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you are traveling to taste authentic Indian-Pakistani food this is not the right place. But if you are an Indian/Pakistani and are dying to taste country food after a long time, you can try this.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Probably the best indian food in Mexico City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is one of the few indian restaurants in Mexico City (probably because of few migratory flows from India, most of the migration that Mexico City has received in the last decade has been from Mexican nationals from other Mexican states withntheir own rich culinary traditions) and is probably the best. The place is not in the middle of a busy area but is very close to Polanco. The decor atrempts to be Indian but is not totally convincing and it can get a little loud with the chatter of diners and the Bollywood movies and music videos that are permanently running in the TV. It is also on the expensive side for what you eat but my wife and I love indian and this is the best option.

I recommend the Mango lassi (for those who havent had the pleasure, this is a drink made lf yoghurt and mango) along with the Pakistani mutton (lamb in a rich delicious curry), the potatoes with eggplant, and for dessert, the rasmalai (a very sweet cheese ball soaking in milk with cardamom and almonds).

The lamb vindaloo can also be very good but is terribly spicy. Seriously, you might just try a piece and be unable to finish the dish. The Chicken tiKka masala can also be very good although it was a bit cold the last time I went.

Non of the dishes come with basmati rice or nan(bread) so order some for your meal. Try the nana with cheese.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.