We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not so good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tandoor

Tandoor
Copernico 156, near Polanco, Mexico City 11590, Mexico
(55) 5545-6863
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #283 of 1,831 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Leibnitz
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you are traveling to taste authentic Indian-Pakistani food this is not the right place. But if you are an Indian/Pakistani and are dying to taste country food after a long time, you can try this.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    30
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Probably the best indian food in Mexico City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is one of the few indian restaurants in Mexico City (probably because of few migratory flows from India, most of the migration that Mexico City has received in the last decade has been from Mexican nationals from other Mexican states withntheir own rich culinary traditions) and is probably the best. The place is not in the middle of a busy area but is very close to Polanco. The decor atrempts to be Indian but is not totally convincing and it can get a little loud with the chatter of diners and the Bollywood movies and music videos that are permanently running in the TV. It is also on the expensive side for what you eat but my wife and I love indian and this is the best option.

I recommend the Mango lassi (for those who havent had the pleasure, this is a drink made lf yoghurt and mango) along with the Pakistani mutton (lamb in a rich delicious curry), the potatoes with eggplant, and for dessert, the rasmalai (a very sweet cheese ball soaking in milk with cardamom and almonds).

The lamb vindaloo can also be very good but is terribly spicy. Seriously, you might just try a piece and be unable to finish the dish. The Chicken tiKka masala can also be very good although it was a bit cold the last time I went.

Non of the dishes come with basmati rice or nan(bread) so order some for your meal. Try the nana with cheese.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Got take out - great food consistently”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great curries, excellent dals and tandoori dishes. They don't have naan but their roti is great. Takeout is always consistent, unlike Dawat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fancy but not for indian lovers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was my first indian restaurant in Mexico city.
It was good but not what i expected: no enought spicy and no rice with your entree. You have to order it.
Otherwise, the service was quite good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not quite a top notch Indian restaurant but acceptable for MEX where there aren't too many”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I went to the Tandoor with my family on a Saturday evening. It is Pakistani-owned but strategically positioned as "Pakistani and Indian" ;-) for obvious reasons. It features dishes from the Indian and Pakistani portions of the Punjab - something worth pointing out lest Mexicans think this is representative of all Indian cuisine, which is as vast and diverse as Mexican cuisine.

The Polanco location is great adding to the diversity of the ecletic neighborhood and the restaurant atmosphere in itself is not bad. We were seated immediately at a good table. We ordered the aloo samosas and vegetable pakoras to start with. The samosas came out on the oily side, while the pakoras were not bad but a tad salty. Some in my party also ordered mango lassis which they said were not bad. For the main course we ordered tandoori chicken and several dishes - chicken tikka masala, butter chicken, almond mutton curry and a dal-spinach dish. We also ordered a lamb biryani and several kinds of naans.

If I decided to go back I would stick to the biryani and the tandoori chicken. The curries, while they were made with reasonably good quality chicken and lamb had a taste and texture to them like they were made from cornstarch or mashed potato gravy. The spice level was less than ideal and it seemed like it was made from a recipe that emphasizes speed over authenticity. The naans were ok but a bit on the drier side. A chapati I ordered was made with whole wheat flour and was good.

All in all a place to consider if you happen to be in MEX and are craving for some Indian or Punjabi food to be precise. Service was not bad but there was an extremely high pressure sell to make us try a chocolate, cardamom cake which we politely turned down. The tab was around MXP 1800 for a party of 5 adults and 2 children with drinks.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.