We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got take out - great food consistently” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tandoor

Tandoor
Copernico 156, near Polanco, Mexico City 11590, Mexico
(55) 5545-6863
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #341 of 1,659 restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Leibnitz
Mexico
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Got take out - great food consistently”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great curries, excellent dals and tandoori dishes. They don't have naan but their roti is great. Takeout is always consistent, unlike Dawat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    17
    24
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fancy but not for indian lovers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

This was my first indian restaurant in Mexico city.
It was good but not what i expected: no enought spicy and no rice with your entree. You have to order it.
Otherwise, the service was quite good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not quite a top notch Indian restaurant but acceptable for MEX where there aren't too many”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I went to the Tandoor with my family on a Saturday evening. It is Pakistani-owned but strategically positioned as "Pakistani and Indian" ;-) for obvious reasons. It features dishes from the Indian and Pakistani portions of the Punjab - something worth pointing out lest Mexicans think this is representative of all Indian cuisine, which is as vast and diverse as Mexican cuisine.

The Polanco location is great adding to the diversity of the ecletic neighborhood and the restaurant atmosphere in itself is not bad. We were seated immediately at a good table. We ordered the aloo samosas and vegetable pakoras to start with. The samosas came out on the oily side, while the pakoras were not bad but a tad salty. Some in my party also ordered mango lassis which they said were not bad. For the main course we ordered tandoori chicken and several dishes - chicken tikka masala, butter chicken, almond mutton curry and a dal-spinach dish. We also ordered a lamb biryani and several kinds of naans.

If I decided to go back I would stick to the biryani and the tandoori chicken. The curries, while they were made with reasonably good quality chicken and lamb had a taste and texture to them like they were made from cornstarch or mashed potato gravy. The spice level was less than ideal and it seemed like it was made from a recipe that emphasizes speed over authenticity. The naans were ok but a bit on the drier side. A chapati I ordered was made with whole wheat flour and was good.

All in all a place to consider if you happen to be in MEX and are craving for some Indian or Punjabi food to be precise. Service was not bad but there was an extremely high pressure sell to make us try a chocolate, cardamom cake which we politely turned down. The tab was around MXP 1800 for a party of 5 adults and 2 children with drinks.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“i will give them a 7”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

many of the spices traditionally used in these dishes are not easy to find in mexico. So i think generally the food was a good attempt but i really wanted it to be more hot. Tumeric was overused and the mango sauce was revolting but all in all a great attempt considering the limited resources in mexico

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Worth a shot..if u don't know Indian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Ordered the most basic of dishes..alu mutter, moong dal, onion nan, chapati and jeera lassi..lassi was too sour, would have really liked some authentic tandoori roti as the name suggests but it didn't feel/taste like it, chapati was decent but way too thick and the dal and alu mutter..well..way too much haldi (turmeric)..both were well cooked and fresh but not the real deal. Still..quite a relief to get some Indian food in a while. Like I said, if u don't know Indian food then it is worth a shot.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tandoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandoor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.