We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican Food in downtown Mexico City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cardenal

El Cardenal
Palma 23, Colonia Centro, Mexico City, Mexico
+52 55218815
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 1,742 restaurants in Mexico City
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food in downtown Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have been here for breakfast and lunch. It is always busy and you have to wait on line if you are late, but they offer fresh coffee and juice while you are waiting. You have to try hot chocolate with mexican pastry. They offer season specials. If you want to try authentic mexican quality food this is the place. I just love this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    583
    258
    76
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keystone, Colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My friend and I ate lunch there today. We really dove into debauchery and loved every morsel! I recommend going for the second floor dining area. The margaritas were great, so was the Mexican white wine by the glass. For dessert we had a chocolate cake that ranked as some of the best in the world for taste (though it looked average). The abolone ceviche was stellar!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“One of the best mexican restaurants you will find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The service, location, ambient, etc. are very good, perfect for breakfast or luch. The food is traditional mexican. They have certain dishes that are only by the season like escamoles, maguey worms (they are great, maybe not in the looks but in the taste!), or "chiles en nogada". Everything is great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“Excellent place, really mexican exquisite food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you decide to treat yourself, don't miss this place....and if want to taste an unforgettable dish, try "chile relleno a la oaxaqueña", I've been there so many times, and never have been disappointed, you won't. Its a really worth experience. You not only won't regret it, but also would want to come again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best Restaurant on Centro Historico ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Best restaurant in Centro Historico. Reminds me of Balthazar in Soho with its old-fashioned setting and service. Unlike many restaurants in the historic district that cater to tourists, the items on the Spanish and English menus are the same. The food is not pricey. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed El Cardenal also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cardenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.