We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, lovely interior, fantastic croissant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cardenal

El Cardenal
Palma 23 Col. Centro Avenue Juarez 70 | 6 Sucursales, Mexico City, Mexico
+52 55 5521 8817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 2,268 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Davis, California, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent service, lovely interior, fantastic croissant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We ate breakfast there after a 30 minute wait on the weekend of Mother's Day. Many tables were filled with well-dressed families with grandmothers (and an occasional grandfather). The breads are baked on site and are fabulous. My husband's carrot-orange juice (fresh) was excellent. My fruit plate was rather ordinary as was my scrambled eggs with a Spanish sausage (made on site) and some rather tasteless refried beans. The place was special because of the fantastic service and breads. We were treated like royalty by skillful, experienced wait staff.

When we left, the line outside was even longer, and even at the end of the day, this restaurant had quite a few people waiting outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    902
    444
    100
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have eaten at El Cardenal on several occasions and have enjoyed my meal each time. The service is five-star and the presentation is beautiful. It is elegant without being stuffy. A "must see" for an experience in fine cuisine and dining. Arrive as they close around 6:00 pm as I recall. Many times there is a waiting list, but worth the time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and such good Aguas Frescas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We ate here for a late lunch on a Sunday. They don't serve dinner on Sundays so we closed the place down. We ordered so much food for 5 people and everything we ate was terrific. Service was top notch, friendly and accurate. The restaurant was in a cool looking old building. They had nice bathrooms. Highlights were the ant eggs, tongue tacos, cactus (nopal) and the Aguas Frescas.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in DF!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Local best kept secret. Some friends took us here while visiting and it was definitely worth it. You may need a reservation and there is always a wait. You'll see people lined up outside of the building. But it's worth the wait. The food is good, as is the atmosphere. Get there early, sign up at the door, then walk around downtown a bit while you wait. Just don't wander too far or you'll lose your spot. We waited about 1 hour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“white tablecloths”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place was fabulous, great service, food and ambiance. Crowded with happy people, not too expensive for the whole experience and I would definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cardenal also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cardenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.