We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tradicional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danubio

Danubio
Republica de Uruguay 3, Mexico City, Mexico
5512.0912
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 2,267 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“tradicional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Traditional enviroment and honest food, since 1936. On saturday lunch time the two floors were full. Service fantastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    69
    20
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam, netherlands
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good fish restaurant, but seems very quiet and out of fashion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We were one of the 4 or 5 tables taken mid week in april. But the fish soup and grilled prawns were very good, with a reasonably priced bottle of Rueda. Old fashioned atmosphere, would recommend it if only to get away from endless totillas in other places!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozos, mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not What it Used To Be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It does not make me happy to report our recent experience at Danubio as having been so incredibly disappointing as this has been one of our favorites for so many years. We arrived in DF on a Saturday night so doubted that we would be able to get in but went by to check anyway. At 8PM the place was so empty & depressing we decided to reserve for an earlier hour the following night. We did return to find the same atmosphere which was none at all. As we have traditionally enjoyed the food for so long we still looked forward to an incredible meal. We were not happy w/any item we ordered. The "Spanish manchego" was not Spanish at all & no different than the least expensive packaged cheese what one finds at the grocery served (thrown down on the table) w/a few olives rolling around on the plate. Equally or perhaps even more disappointing was the "tuna tar-tar" which was w/out a doubt canned tuna. The entrees we were served were not the food we have come to know & love here. The waitstaff remains the same group of wonderful older gentlemen/professional waiters we've seen over the years but were all grumpy & short seeming to just be trying to make it to the end of the night. So fond are our memories that we will return once more in hopes that it was all just a bad dream.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“Memorable Dinner Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Food quality and selection, atmosphere, service, tradition. I had been there with my father, many years ago and never expected to find the same ambiance that can take you back to the golden years of downtown Mexico City.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Langostinos to last a lifetime!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food, langostinos and sopa verde were excellent, good family ambiance and if you're early you can have a nice quiet meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danubio also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Danubio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.