We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish restaurant, but seems very quiet and out of fashion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Danubio

Danubio
Republica de Uruguay 3, Mexico City, Mexico
5512.0912
Update restaurant details
Ranked #24 of 1,659 restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
amsterdam, netherlands
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good fish restaurant, but seems very quiet and out of fashion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We were one of the 4 or 5 tables taken mid week in april. But the fish soup and grilled prawns were very good, with a reasonably priced bottle of Rueda. Old fashioned atmosphere, would recommend it if only to get away from endless totillas in other places!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    85
    44
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pozos, mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not What it Used To Be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It does not make me happy to report our recent experience at Danubio as having been so incredibly disappointing as this has been one of our favorites for so many years. We arrived in DF on a Saturday night so doubted that we would be able to get in but went by to check anyway. At 8PM the place was so empty & depressing we decided to reserve for an earlier hour the following night. We did return to find the same atmosphere which was none at all. As we have traditionally enjoyed the food for so long we still looked forward to an incredible meal. We were not happy w/any item we ordered. The "Spanish manchego" was not Spanish at all & no different than the least expensive packaged cheese what one finds at the grocery served (thrown down on the table) w/a few olives rolling around on the plate. Equally or perhaps even more disappointing was the "tuna tar-tar" which was w/out a doubt canned tuna. The entrees we were served were not the food we have come to know & love here. The waitstaff remains the same group of wonderful older gentlemen/professional waiters we've seen over the years but were all grumpy & short seeming to just be trying to make it to the end of the night. So fond are our memories that we will return once more in hopes that it was all just a bad dream.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“Memorable Dinner Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Food quality and selection, atmosphere, service, tradition. I had been there with my father, many years ago and never expected to find the same ambiance that can take you back to the golden years of downtown Mexico City.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Langostinos to last a lifetime!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Loved the food, langostinos and sopa verde were excellent, good family ambiance and if you're early you can have a nice quiet meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Traditional and Spanish taste seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is an excellent seafood restaurant with a strong Spanish tradition, though you may find other options, like octopus ceviche.

I had the green soup and its flavor was a gentle combination of clams and shrimps taste with the generous freshness of celery.

As Danubio it is close to a lot of office buildings, may get noisy and crowded and perhaps at nights may not be so nice. Be sure to get there early to enjoy a good service and even better food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danubio also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Danubio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danubio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.