We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for crepes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cluny

Cluny
Av. de la Paz, 57 | Loc. 2 & 3 (Entre Av. Insurgentes y Av. Revolución), Mexico City 01000, Mexico
+52 55 5550 7359
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 2,195 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: French, Creperie, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mexico City’s first and best creperie, established in 1974. Cluny is located in the heart of the historical quarter of San Angel in the south of Mexico City and housed in a grand building which was the former residence of one of the area’s wealthiest families, built in 1901 and now listed as one of the city’s historical landmarks. This location, together with an elegantly appointed décor is what gives Cluny a very romantic, cozy and inviting atmosphere, as our tables are set amongst stone & brick arches and vaulted ceilings.Over its 35+ years of existence, Cluny has increased its number of tables from 14 to 80+, now taking up almost the entire ground floor of the former residence. This expansion has also been reflected on our menu, which now not only offers traditional crepes, but also innovative and delicious seafood dishes, grilled meats, one of the city’s most famous salad bars, traditional French dishes, bread and ice creams made by our chef, and a beautiful Belle Epoque style wine bar which opened in 2003.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place for crepes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Don't look around anymore this place is the best if you're looking for crepes! big selection of them. I've been there lots of times, probably tried the whole menu, I've loved everyone I've tried. Save some space for desert bcs you shouldn't miss sweet crepes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    58
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“The best Parisian Bistrot in Mexico with a very cozy ambiance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Cluny has something unique: they capture the French vibe and serve it on every dish. Overall, it was a very pleasurable experience. If I had to highlight something, their wine selection would be it. Incredible bang for the buck. Also, amazing salad bar, really.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A delicious blend of French cuisine and local touch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was delighted with the outside sitting area. It reminded me of a French cafe. I had the "atun indonesio" (Indonesian tuna) as an appetizer and that went great. The atmosphere was nice, the food a notch above its price range and the waiter was kind. No regret after waiting 10 minutes for a table. Also, try one of their many beers!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place for a crêpe and a glass of wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent restaurant sandwiched between a few other eateries in an alley of restaurants. We've had terrific seafood crêpes here. The interior feels a bit more upscale and warm than most restaurants in Mexico.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great crepes. That's it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you want good crepes, you want to go to Cluny. Don't bother searching for something else in the menu, that would be a waste. You can have salty and sweet crepes, with some wine and have a great meal in a very, very nice place, in a very nice neighborhood. This is a perfect place for a romantic celebration.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cluny also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cluny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cluny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.