We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, super service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Contramar

Contramar
Durango 200, Col. Roma Norte, Mexico City, Mexico (Roma Norte)
5514.9217 / 5514.3169
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 2,010 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $0 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Roma Norte
Millbrae, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, super service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We walked from National Museum of Anthropology to Contramar. It was a good walk and made us hungry. When we got there, there were a little over 10 people waiting for tables. We almost gave up, because we wanted to eat right away. We asked one of the servers for the length of the wait and he told us there were room if we do not mind sitting at the bar to eat. We took the offer. We ordered fish tacos and arroz negro along with a couple of drinks. The food was excellent as we expected, and we were impressed by the very professional and friendly service. The price was reasonable for the quality of food, service and the location. This is the place we would definitely go back when we visit Mexico city next time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    66
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood in te highlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

During this trip to DF, we also visited a world renowned Peruvian restaurant acclaimed for its seafood.

That place is nowhere near Contramar.

The placed has limited hours and the upper crust push their way in. Definitely make a reservation. The host Manu took good care of us, ensuring we were promptly seated. Despite the 10 minute delay (no big deal with a bar to pass the time), once seated Manu generously comped us tostadas de atun (amazingly delicious) "for our troubles."

The food is simple out of this world fresh and contemporary versions of Mexican seafood. Highly recommend the tostadas de atun, pulpo ceviche and the sashimi de atun.

As a hearty alternative to seafood, highly recommend the patatas con huevo y jamon Serrano.

This was beyond filling for my partner and I (and we have very healthy appetites).

Full bar with good selection of wine (highly recommend the, yes, Mexican wines) and standard beer selection.

We have the fig tart and Mexcal for dessert. Needless to say, we happily walked to our apartment.

Can't wait to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Amazing fresh seafood! Best in the Mexico City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Good service, fresh seafood.. one of the best meals in Mexico City! I can't believe it took me so long to try it. If you like raw tuna, the sashimi and tostados de atun are to die for. We had the pescado Contramar.. half red sauce, half green sauce. Perfectly cooked, absolutely delicious. I'll be going back on a regular basis.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“For Seafood Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you love seafood, you'll love Contramar.

It's a lunch-early dinner place.

The food is wonderful, probably the best seafood in Mexico, lovely Condessa location. Service is efficient and friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A must in mexican style seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A chance to know from a master the less known mexican food based in fish and seafood, wich i think is better than the more common type

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Contramar also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Contramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Contramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.