We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this restaurant!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Contramar

Contramar
Durango 200, Col. Roma Norte, Mexico City, Mexico (Roma Norte)
5514.9217 / 5514.3169
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,807 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $0 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Roma Norte
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

There are so many factors that make this restaurant exceptional: Foremost, I love the food. The tostados with marinated tuna are out of this world. I've never had anything as good; The ambiance is terrific. There is an excitement in the air and you cannot be there and not succumb to the feeling that it's great to be alive and to enjoy such wonderful food; Then there is the attentive service. I feel that are servers genuinely want the patrons be be happy. Thank you Contramar!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    53
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top place in Mexico city for seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Best place in Mexico City for seafood and mescal... A must go!, But need to book if you want to get a table.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Busy. Fast. Furious. But good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Whew... We went at 5pm on a Tuesday which is typically a quiet time in a restaurant around these parts. Not so here. The place was mobbed with almost every table taken. We were lucky we didn't have to wait for a table.
But when we sat down, we were infested with waiters who wanted to take our order mucho pronto, before we even had a chance to really look at the menu, and which was given to us in Spanish.
Ever try to order from a menu that looks like the Rosetta Stone? Good luck.
Well, we ordered our food after tossing darts at the menu and it came quicker than a burger at In and Out. The food was much better however. No complaints there.
Would have liked to enjoy my meal at a more leisurely pace and while there was nothing tranquillo about it, I'd go back. Especially when in a hurry!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

AWESOME LUNCH. Great food and supper service. Place is a must visit. Everything we ate was really good. This was a memorable and amazingly reasonably priced meal. Thanks

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We ate at the bar because we did not make a reservation. You can get a table by 2 pm.
Delicious tostadas, tacos, and a Pampano so fresh and well prepared. Don't miss the desserts fig and creammmmmhhhhh. Superb coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Contramar also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Contramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Contramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.