We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Contramar

Contramar
Durango 200, Col. Roma Norte, Mexico City, Mexico (Roma Norte)
5514.9217 / 5514.3169
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,760 restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $0 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Roma Norte
Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great sea food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Located in La Condesa , this is a must for every tourist. Great food, great ambience, after having lunch you can always visit "La glorieta de los Cibeles":

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    137
    50
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We were not WOWED!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Living 1 block from Contramar and I finally had lunch there with an friend from Chicago. It's a buzzing kind of place on a Saturday. We started with an order of ceviche, which my friend enjoyed, but I didn't. My 'atun de Contramar' was fine, cooked nicely (medium), but it was the only thing on the plate. NO side and it looked lonely. Our white wine was fantastic though, from Argentina's Mendoza region. My friends four different tacos turned out to be 5 and he reported them as tasty. All in all, an average meal, but the price was very reasonable.

So, I have a question; why don't waiters thank their customers at restaurants when they receive a tip. THEY ARE TOO FORMAL AND NEVER SAY THANKS. I'M TEMPTED TO NOT TIP AT ALL; THE WAITERS NEVER SAY THANKS. ARE THEY JUST TOO 'FRESA' TO SAY A LITTLE WORD LIKE 'THANKS?' BUGS THE %$#& OUT OF ME. I've lived in DF for years and its the same everywhere............

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“SO GOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We sat outside on a lovely warm spring Mexico City day. Great for watching all the elegant people stroll by. Even though the place gets crowded, we didnt feel rushed at all. The staff was friendly, caring and professional. Everything we ate was filled with flavor. Of course we had the raw tuna tostadas. And we shared the fish special -- half rubbed with hot, lively red adobo; half rubbed with cool, refreshing parsley and other herbs. It was heaven. The lemonade was the most refreshing Ive ever had. And then ... the sweet fig tart ... with an amazing cappucino. I wish I could go back tomorrow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best in Mexico City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were there in semana santa, beautiful sunny day and we got a table outside. We had the ceviche, aguachile, fish tacos, caldo de camaron, tostadas, mezcal coktail... everything was amazing!
Great service, kid friendly, just perfect!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely meal - with a legendary speciality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Tostados de atun. I could eat them forever: sashimi qualty tuna, chipotle mayo, avocado and crispy onion. Helpful staff, nice ceviche, good fish but those tostados stood out - world class.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Contramar also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Contramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Contramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.