We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Bistro in Mexico City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ivoire

Ivoire
Emilio castelar 95, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Polanco)
52-555-280-0477
Improve this listing
Ranked #369 of 2,341 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Alejandro Dumas & Julio Verne
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“French Bistro in Mexico City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This past week I was visiting Mexico City, I had been walking around Polanco and decided I needed to eat. 3pm is usually the busy time for restaurants so be aware. I had passed by this cute french inspired cafe with benches, tables and black/white striped cushions many times.
Yes, a corner outside table just for me (woman on her own).
I ordered a glass of rose, artichokes (sliced thin with pears and mushrooms) and finally pistachio gelatto. The food was good and the location great for people watching.
The service was slow ......... but to be expected, not a big deal.
So if you want to sit, enjoy the view, have good food also a great place for a bunch of gals to gather.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    69
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent as Always”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place hast tradition in the area, You cannot say You went to Polanco without visit this restaurant, ambiance, design and taste are the perfect elements that plays for a great dinner and stay.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Watch your credit card!!! They cloned mine”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Forget the atmosphere or the food, watch your credit card!. Ask that they bring the terminal to your table. They took the credit card and took an EXTREMELY long time to come back with the voucher. I didn't know what was going to happen. The following morning I discovered that someone had used my card to pay for a trip in expedia and paid for his or hers skiing vacation!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Everyone in the table got food poisoned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were having lunch and everyone was eating different plates. Eitherway, in the night we started calling each other and 3 out of 4 went to the hospital to get checked. I DON'T RECOMEND THAT PLACE WHATSOEVER!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you are staying in the Polanco area this place is a great option for lunch, walking distance from Campos Eliseos. Prompt service and great quality, during a warm day is great to be sitting in the patio or the sidewalk.
My favorites: fresh oysters from Baja, octopus carpaccio and chilled white wine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivoire also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.