We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Portuguesa

Casa Portuguesa
Emilio Castelar 111-A, Mexico City, Mexico (Polanco)
(55)5281-0075
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 1,749 restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Polanco
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We went here for breakfast and had a great experience. The food was great and the service attentive. The location, facing Parque Lincoln, is also nice.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    37
    43
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Can somebody please bring a Portuguese cook?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Be ready not to enjoy anything remotely close to Portuguese food, and don't even think about asking your waiter who may not of Portuguese food less than the menu explains.
Apart from that I would qualify this as a so and so restaurant that has a nice patio looking into a park (more like a boulevard) and where you can enjoy some pseudo-portuguese specialties (much in the same way that Italian food in the US does not resemble Italy's food). That being said, the croquettes were acceptable. I might go back only if I am within close walking distance and desperate for food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best octopus & chorizo over a glass of wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I love sitting on the terrace, ordering a glass of vinho verde and enjoying the best "Portuguese style octopus" as a starter (octopus marinated in lime, olive oil, fresh garlic, grain salt and parsley) as well as a chorizo in red wine casserole. I keep on going back for the same stuff, then I walk to Café Europa for a quick coffee fix and then to Roxy's nearby to buy an ice cream and walk around Lincoln Park. Super pleasant afternoon!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Good food, very special cod fish. I really reccomend seats outside.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Looking for some different menu items?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

If you need a change of pace from the typical items found at almost every restaurant in the vicinity (and there are many in Polanco), consider trying the Casa Portuguesa and some Portuguese-Mexican fusion cuisine. There are a number of menu items that are not universally found and well worth the trip. The food is good and worth the effort of getting here. There is an outdoor dining terrace with good views towards the adjacent, tree-shaded, Lincoln Park,so the surrounding "energy" level is somewhat lower than on nearby Av. Masaryk. This is a popular restaurant, so it can be a little on the noisy side during peak periods and at times the service struggles to keep up with the number of customers. Parking is difficult, as there is none, so plan on either valet parking or walking. Overall, this restaurant is well worth a visit and offers a worthwhile dining experience. Give it a try, we were surprised and it exceeded our expectations. Considering Mexico City prices and the rents for retail space in the vicinity, it was not really that expensive.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Portuguesa also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Casa Portuguesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Portuguesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.