We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very original, fun and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pujol

Pujol
Francisco Petrarca 254 | Polanco, Mexico City 11570, Mexico (Polanco)
(55)55453507
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pujol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 2,268 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Horacio
Transit: Metro Polanco
Description: Once again featured on the San Pellegrino list of the "World's 50 Finest Restaurants"—and moving up thirteen spots to number 36—Pujol is Chef Enrique Olvera's extraordinary personal approach to Mexican cuisine, famed for reinvention and ongoing perfectionism, where tradition and contemporary gastronomy live side by side as expressed in culinary techniques both ancient and modern. Using both imagination and delicacy, Olvera recombines Mexico's nearly infinite ingredients and flavors, demonstrating an extraordinary food culture's potential in obsessive detail.
MexicoDFA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very original, fun and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Was it 9 or 10 courses, I can't remember, but each was small, very zen, with original yet Mexican tastes. Very small servings but so many, all of a sudden you realize you have had really quite a lot to eat and the hunger is gone. Very haute cuisine. Must have a very well trained staff to turn out such miniature works of art. We asked the sommelier for some advice about two of the less expensive bottles of wine, and he suggested the least expensive, (not saying it was cheap but one of the least expensive) which was delicious. The meal for two with a bottle of wine came to about 2,300 pesos, or US$180. I consider that a fair price for what we received. All the staff were attentive, polite and friendly. I can't wait to go back and have been recommending it to friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    126
    72
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DF
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had high expectations for Pujol especially after making the reservations one month in advance, we were not disappointed, in fact Pujol exceeded our expectations. We had a mezcal margarita, highly recommended and selected from the choices of the 10 course meal. Each course topped the next with blends of amazingly combined ingredients. With each dish, we declared it was our favorite until the next arrived.
We were expecting it to be pricey so were also surprised it wasn't too bad for one of the top 20 restaurants in the world. For 3 cocktails and the set menu (plus tip) for two people we paid around $200 usd. It was well worth it and we are already planning a return visit when the menu changes in a few months. The service was remarkable especially from Alberto T. Gracias Pujol!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Definitely one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at. Made a reservation for three about a month and a half in advance and on the day of the reservation we arrived twenty minutes late and almost lost our reservation; you must arrive on time. Staff was very knowledgeable and the sommelier was very helpful in selecting a wine for the evening. Service was perfect and the food was superb in every way (presentation, flavors, execution, etc.). Definitely a must for high end Mexican cuisine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I seldom leave comments on trip advisor, but when something is truly outstanding, I really feel like I should. Our dinner was absolutely fantastic: impeccable service (kind, friendly, bilingual servers; no rush), delicious and unique food, and perfect ambiance. If you are interested in food, you will not regret coming here. Almost everything we tried was something different (ie romerito salad with fava beans), or something perfectly executed (ie mole cooked - literally - for over 200 days!). We'll worth the expense, and truly unforgettable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Incredible. Words can not explain. Your palate will do all the talking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

One of the best dining experiences ever. A highly trained, educated, and sophisticated staff. The presentation, attention to detail, and the ability to awaken your curiosity was at its best. Is the food expensive? Not really in comparison to other Polanco restaurants. Once dining here, its as if you're wasting your money and time at restaurants like Quintonil or Dulce Patria for that matter.
This is the "it" place. Well deserved awards and all the positive reviews. Food was outstanding and incredibly creative. You leave dancing on your toes.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pujol also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pujol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pujol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.