We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but there are areas for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pujol

Pujol
Francisco Petrarca 254 | Polanco, Mexico City 11570, Mexico (Polanco)
(55)55453507
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pujol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,806 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Horacio
Transit: Metro Polanco
Description: Once again featured on the San Pellegrino list of the "World's 50 Finest Restaurants"—and moving up thirteen spots to number 36—Pujol is Chef Enrique Olvera's extraordinary personal approach to Mexican cuisine, famed for reinvention and ongoing perfectionism, where tradition and contemporary gastronomy live side by side as expressed in culinary techniques both ancient and modern. Using both imagination and delicacy, Olvera recombines Mexico's nearly infinite ingredients and flavors, demonstrating an extraordinary food culture's potential in obsessive detail.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice but there are areas for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited the restaurant on a short trip to Mexico City having booked a month in advance. The initial experience is very pleasant with a well spaced table set up and a dark and moody decor which creates a very nice atmosphere.

The wine list is extensive with a very broad selection of both new and old world wines. It was not overpriced and the selection that we made from Spain and Argentina were very nice.

The restaurant offers two options - a tasting menu or a fixed price menu. We choose the tasting which is a selection of 13 bite sized morsels that are all mexican in their origin. Having tasted mexican food previously we could see that there was strong innovation in the cooking and a very strong balance of flavours, textures and heat. The smoked baby corn, the beef tar tar and the barbacoa taco were particularly memorable. Where the restaurant did really excel was with the deserts which all hit the target.

Sometimes when going to restaurants like this, I don't eat much on the day of the trip. The portions at this restaurant are very small and therefore hearty eaters would end up leaving the restaurant hungry.

The price for the food is very reasonable. Perhaps the restaurant should focus on increasing its price and consequently the size of the portions. A 30% increase in volume of food would be about right. The tasting menu cost 45 STG or $60.

There are a couple of things that the restaurant could improve on. The menu is only printed in Spanish which makes it difficult for a non Spanish speaker to remember the 13 translations that were offered by the waiters. We had an early sitting which meant the restaurant was not that busy when we started however as it got busier they struggled to keep on top of the wine pouring and we were a few times left with empty glasses while having plenty of wine still to drink. Not all of the staff speak English so the description of the dishes when they arrived was sometimes difficult to understand. On a practical level the food presented is finger food - the plates on which they were presented were often extremely hot which made picking up the food difficult.

The restaurant is located in a small side street and therefore if taking a local taxi make sure that you have a map with you and good directions. Our taxi driver managed to get lost.

On balance we had a very nice evening, with great food and wine in a very nice setting. We can see that there is clear talent in the kitchen and with some improvements in the areas highlighted above the experience will be even more pleasant for customers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    100
    60
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal in Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A friend had recommended Pujol, and it was another gem. More formal than Dulce Patria and only offering set menus but there was an abridged version if you couldn't face the 10 courses but by the time they had brought appetisers etc, I think we probably had 10 courses.
They knew I was celebrating my birthday so I got a little cake with a sparkler.
The food was excellent - you are spoilt for choice in Mexico City.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our taxi river had never heard of Pujol and even with the complete street address he had trouble finding the small modern building that houses the restaurant. The sleek facade is unassuming, save the smartly dressed valets out front who came running to greet us. Inside, we were ushered past a small bar into a dimly lit, low ceilinged dining room. It was much smaller than I had expected, about the size of a gentlemen-only lounge at a country club. The walls are painted a charcoal gray. Stretched along one wall is a row of banquet seating. The rest of the room is dotted with stand alone white table-clothed tables, each lit from above a singular spot light creating dining "islands" for each party. It was sleek and elegant and comfortably cosmopolitan!

At the time of our visit, there were two dining options: Chef Enrique Olvera's ten course tasting menu and a prix fixe four course menu with several options for each course. Not wanting the kids to sit through a 2 1/2 hour meal, we chose the prix fixe option (890 mn p/p) which also allowed me to help my son (our less adventurous eater) to find things he might like. My daughter was, of course, thrilled to be there and quickly had all the servers fawning all over her suggesting elegant "mocktails" and menu selections that she might enjoy. My husband and I stuck to the vegetarian and seafood options while the kids had some meat sprinkled into their meals.

I've read a couple of reviews on TA since we returned from our trip and many of them call out the waitstaff as pretentious and impatient. Others claimed their service was overly intrusive. Some called it "odd". I found just the opposite. Despite the fact that we were the only foreigners in the restaurant, we were clearly under-dressed and two of our party were under the age of 12, I found our service to be spot on. The courses were timed properly and served at the correct temperature. We were never left with empty drinks or plates. Silverware was replaced...never simply set aside for the next course. Napkins were promptly refolded during trips to the restroom. It all worked like a well-oiled machine. Everyone was smiley and nice, especially to our children.

My only complaint is that I would like like to have had a beverage - wine, mezcal, champagne, agua fresca - something thoughtfully paired with each course. I'm not talking about a full pour, just a little something that the Chef has chosen to best accompany each offering. I would have been happy to pay an additional charge for this option rather than having to choose for myself from their extensive beverage menu. Otherwise, I very much enjoyed my food and my dining experience. The food was well conceived and perfectly executed. With two starters sent out to warm up our palates and the complimentary deserts, I feel like the price was well justified. Best of all, it tasted good! We are definitely looking forward to trying the full tasting menu the next time we have an opportunity to be in Mexico City on our own.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A much anticipated experience though good did not meet the hype. The chefs tasting menu was OK and nothing that really stood out except the fact that I ate ant larvae, frog legs, and rotten banana for desert. Mescal selection was good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Mexican High Couisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I went the for my husband's birthday. Some foodie friends recommended me to go there. It's expensive but it totally worth it. Best Mexican food I have ever try. The combination with the food is just outstanding.
The chef really goes to the origins of Mexican food. With ingredients that just some people really appreciate and know how to play with them.
For me as a Mexican I was really impress and very proud the way they presented the dishes, the flavors, the service.
If you are into food, but really into a good food. Please go there!
The service was incredible.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pujol also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pujol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pujol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.