We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“He is # 17 ¡¡ in THE world list. !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pujol

Pujol
Francisco Petrarca 254 | Polanco, Mexico City 11570, Mexico (Polanco)
(55)55453507
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pujol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,740 restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Horacio
Transit: Metro Polanco
Description: Once again featured on the San Pellegrino list of the "World's 50 Finest Restaurants"—and moving up thirteen spots to number 36—Pujol is Chef Enrique Olvera's extraordinary personal approach to Mexican cuisine, famed for reinvention and ongoing perfectionism, where tradition and contemporary gastronomy live side by side as expressed in culinary techniques both ancient and modern. Using both imagination and delicacy, Olvera recombines Mexico's nearly infinite ingredients and flavors, demonstrating an extraordinary food culture's potential in obsessive detail.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“He is # 17 ¡¡ in THE world list. !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you have a gourmet palate, this the place you don´t want to miss. All of his cooking is exceptional. He takes an ordinary ingredient (for us ) like mole, or Huitlacoche and makes something extraordinary. I really advise you if you are from out of town to plan a trip and make your reservation, some time you will have to wait 2 or 3 weeks. and every season you will find a new menu, or some new things to experiment. With your appetizer try a Mezcal they have the very finest.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    330
    91
    55
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the effort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

No sign out front and no taxi driver knows how to find it, but Pujol promises a unique dining experience in this very cosmopolitan city! The only way to hear of this world-class restaurant is from a friend. So, I'm "frending" you - you won't regret taking my advice and spending an evening at Pujol! We took on the ten-course special offer. The menu varies by season, but the service, preparation, presentation and.. OMG the taste is sure to please. expect the unexpected - ant eggs? And expect what is expected from a fine dining establishment: impeccable service, an extraordinary wine cellar and a host of artisan cervezas from all over the Republic!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the very best, not only in Mexico City, but worldwide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We live in Mexico City which, fortunately, can boast of many excellent restaurants. On April 20th, just ten days ago, my daughter and her husband (who live in New York) and my son and his wife (who live in Berlin) came to visit us for my 80th birthday. Among other celebrations they invited us (my wife and me) for dinner at Pujol restaurant. It was an unforgetable culinary experience, where the delicate flavours of every dish of a two-hour "degustation menu" went "in crescendo". Absolutely delightful. No wonder the pretigious british magazine "Restaurant" yesterday classified it in 17th place among the "50 best in the world", up 19 places from last year's evaluation.
The six of us ordered the degustation menu and none of us had the slightest complaint, just praises. Te personnel was highly trained, very courteous. The tableware was most adequate for every dish; even thinking hard, there was no aspect I can find to criticize. To be amply, completely recommended.
Incidentally, and this has nothing to do with the restaurant, today is our 43rd wedding anniversary. (Sorry, couldn't help mentioning it.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Modern Fine Dining with Mexican Ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great creativity of this chef using Mexican ingredients and creating the most amazing dishes. Chef Enrique Olvera uses ingredients that have been part of Mexican cusine for hundreds of years and modernizes the dishes such as combining Huitlacoche ( a type of Mexican black corn truffle ) with Tamales. His tortillas are also the best that I have ever tried!!! So, definitely recommend the dishes that have some type of tacos

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Excelente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our meal was full of new flavors and taste treats. From our arrival and greeting to our departure with chocolate presentation - this was near perfection. The first dish of smoked baby corn brought a bigger WOW from our party than the oysters & pearls at The French Laundry. Each dish was better than imagined from reading the menu. I hope that Chef Enrique Oliveras will open a clone somewhere in the United States.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pujol also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pujol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pujol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.