We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find, but worth the effort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pujol

Pujol
Francisco Petrarca 254 | Polanco, Mexico City 11570, Mexico (Polanco)
(55)55453507
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pujol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 1,784 restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Mexican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Horacio
Transit: Metro Polanco
Description: Once again featured on the San Pellegrino list of the "World's 50 Finest Restaurants"—and moving up thirteen spots to number 36—Pujol is Chef Enrique Olvera's extraordinary personal approach to Mexican cuisine, famed for reinvention and ongoing perfectionism, where tradition and contemporary gastronomy live side by side as expressed in culinary techniques both ancient and modern. Using both imagination and delicacy, Olvera recombines Mexico's nearly infinite ingredients and flavors, demonstrating an extraordinary food culture's potential in obsessive detail.
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth the effort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

No sign out front and no taxi driver knows how to find it, but Pujol promises a unique dining experience in this very cosmopolitan city! The only way to hear of this world-class restaurant is from a friend. So, I'm "frending" you - you won't regret taking my advice and spending an evening at Pujol! We took on the ten-course special offer. The menu varies by season, but the service, preparation, presentation and.. OMG the taste is sure to please. expect the unexpected - ant eggs? And expect what is expected from a fine dining establishment: impeccable service, an extraordinary wine cellar and a host of artisan cervezas from all over the Republic!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    344
    96
    59
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“One of the very best, not only in Mexico City, but worldwide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We live in Mexico City which, fortunately, can boast of many excellent restaurants. On April 20th, just ten days ago, my daughter and her husband (who live in New York) and my son and his wife (who live in Berlin) came to visit us for my 80th birthday. Among other celebrations they invited us (my wife and me) for dinner at Pujol restaurant. It was an unforgetable culinary experience, where the delicate flavours of every dish of a two-hour "degustation menu" went "in crescendo". Absolutely delightful. No wonder the pretigious british magazine "Restaurant" yesterday classified it in 17th place among the "50 best in the world", up 19 places from last year's evaluation.
The six of us ordered the degustation menu and none of us had the slightest complaint, just praises. Te personnel was highly trained, very courteous. The tableware was most adequate for every dish; even thinking hard, there was no aspect I can find to criticize. To be amply, completely recommended.
Incidentally, and this has nothing to do with the restaurant, today is our 43rd wedding anniversary. (Sorry, couldn't help mentioning it.)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Modern Fine Dining with Mexican Ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great creativity of this chef using Mexican ingredients and creating the most amazing dishes. Chef Enrique Olvera uses ingredients that have been part of Mexican cusine for hundreds of years and modernizes the dishes such as combining Huitlacoche ( a type of Mexican black corn truffle ) with Tamales. His tortillas are also the best that I have ever tried!!! So, definitely recommend the dishes that have some type of tacos

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Excelente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our meal was full of new flavors and taste treats. From our arrival and greeting to our departure with chocolate presentation - this was near perfection. The first dish of smoked baby corn brought a bigger WOW from our party than the oysters & pearls at The French Laundry. Each dish was better than imagined from reading the menu. I hope that Chef Enrique Oliveras will open a clone somewhere in the United States.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Jalisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Six of us went to Pujol at the end of March. We all live in Mexico and have travelled all over the world.
The experience at Pujol was nothing but perfect. From the time we entered and were welcomed in to the time we left.
We chose the tasting menu with 5 items, every course was better than the last.
The small corn served in a container with coffee mayo and ant dust was incredible, the small appetizer of carpacio of avocado was excellent and the corn hust consomme was also very good.
The "ancas de rana" frogs legs with sauces were excellent, the steak tartar had its own twist but excellent.
The pork confit was delicious and incredible.
The cheese plate and the avocado mousse were also excellent.

The wine list is fabulous also with a wine cellar on location.
Upon leaving we were offered a home made chocalate (we would have eaten a dozen of them, they were so gooooood).
Al in all a fabulous experienxce and a dinner we will not forget soon!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pujol also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pujol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pujol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.