We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tori Tori

Tori Tori
Temistocles 61, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Polanco)
525552818112
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tori Tori is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #235 of 2,193 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $200
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
Cross street: Campos Eliseos y Newton
Description: Restaurante de comida tradicional japonesa con mas de 14 anos de experiencia ubicado en el corazon de Polanco en un ambiente vanguardista y cosmopolita.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place, great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was a romantic dinner for our anniversary, the place is beautiful, it has a great architecture in te structure and the terrace is great, it is very commfortable for smokers, also because it can be closed if it rains, so you don't have to worry for the weather.
The service is great, the servers are very kind, the menu are difficult to manage, they are very big and the enviroment is kind of dark so you need a flashlight to read the menu.
For me was a little diffucult to decide what I wanted to eat, thwre are so many sushis rolls, sashimis, and japanese preparations. We had a sushi that was delicious and the crab croquettes were excelent.
The desserts are delicious, it a worthly restaurant and I recommend it a lot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    56
    18
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Trendy hideout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We visited Tori Tori because of its architecture, but we were surprised by the quality of its food and its the trendy environment. This hidden garden in the middle of Polanco area, has managed to create a nice outside environment, combined with good Japanese food. Try the Tuna with rice bowl!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irapuato, Mexico
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good place to have a good time with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Good place, the food I'm not that crazy about, but the people who like Japanese food love it, but the place is great for some dinner and drinks with friends. I would totally recommend spending an evening there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Wildly over rated - far more concerned about being trendy than good service or good food ....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I was looking forward to eating in what I had heard was the best Japanese restaurant in df. Diet impressions were poor - the hostess who 'greeted' us was ins if the most brusque and rude people I have ever encountered in a restaurant or hotel. We were seated inside - the decor and lighting is terrible (the waiters have to shine torches so you can see the menu ...). Service was polite but really sloppy - we ordered 2 margaritas and 1 mineral water to start: the margaritas arrived but not the mineral water. No other drinks menu arrived until we asked for one halfway through our meal, when a sake menu arrived - but we had to ask yet again for the wine list. Sake only by the bottle and half bottle,nothing by the glass and a grand total of one white and one red wine choice by the glass. The margaritas were undrinkably sweet. Wine was ridiculously expensive, even by df standards (60US for a bland French Riesling). Gyoza was overlooked. Tempura was good. Nigiri sushi was fine - the fish was very fresh- but no better than any mid range Japanese chain restaurant in Europe. Robalo and huachinango were notably better than other choices. Desserts were bought in bland pastries. To top it all, we had much too loud bad 80s music being thumped into our ears all night. Lots of self consciously trendy people floating around, so if that it what floats your boat - along with paying a lots of money to eat very average sushi to the deafening strains of Aha, Madness and Spandau Ballet - you might like it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trendiest place to eat in Polanco.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

It was hard for me to get there, the entrance is hidden, like a secret garden in the middle of the city, with beautiful green walls, and spectacular decor, the TUNABOWL was amazing! A bit spicy but delicious, the quality of raw ingredients outstanding! The service was pretty good too! And while we where there we saw several Mexican celebrities enjoying their sushi! I loved it!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tori Tori also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Tori Tori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tori Tori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.