We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a traditional Mexican breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Cardenal

El Cardenal
Av. de las Palmas 215, Mexico City 11000, Mexico (Centro)
2623 0402
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,788 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $20 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Centro
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a traditional Mexican breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

El Cardenal is one of the most traditional restaurants in México, great quality and flavor in their menu. Very nice familiar place in the weekends (but try to arrive before 9am or you'll have to wait 20-30 min to get a table.
My favorites for breakfast are tortilla de escamoles (escamoles frittata), hot chocolate and huevos Veracruz (egg tacos with a beans sauce and chorizo). They make their own bread so is delicious, also the fresh made fruit juices.
In summary, one of my favorites places to have a nice family breakfast on weekends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    154
    71
    16
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you re an American and think that Mexican food consists of tacos, nachos, and refried beans boy are you in for a surprise. I was in Mexico about 25 years ago and loved the food. Came back home and was disappointed at the Mexican food in the U.S. On my return to Mexico I was so glad to find this restaurant to reaffirm my love for Mexican food. So good. I was in Mexico for a week and went there twice. It is so good that I would consider making a trip to Mexico City just to eat there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Love this place. A must go when in Mexico City. Don't miss it. Try the so famous conchas with nata for breakfast... You won't regret it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Whether it is with visiting friends or just for the fun of it, this traditional white tablecloth restaurant is a great choice for Mexican Cuisine.
Their breakfasts and lunches are delicious; unfortunately, they are not open for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little of classic Mexican society and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food was very good, but I did have to send my fish dinner back because the taste was off. However, they replaced it with a delicious Salmon dinner with no problem. My husbands dinner was very good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cardenal also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cardenal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.