We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service. Perfect midnight dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au Pied de Cochon

Au Pied de Cochon
Campos Eliseos 218 | Presidente Inter-Continental Mexico City, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Polanco)
555-327-7700
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Au Pied de Cochon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,791 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
MEXICO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding service. Perfect midnight dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Au Pied de Cochon for many years has gain great prestige in Mexico City, for many locals it is perfect spot for an after concert dinner (The Auditorio Nacional forum is just across the street) said that, we had just had best service experience.

OUR VIP EXPERIENCE: After a concert, the restaurant was full, and only one table was available, since walk-ins are accepted they let us know that our table was to be ready in a couple of minutes, at that moment some guy walks in asking for a table, when they let him know that it was fully booked he went inside talked to everyone that he could in order to get one table, an then his party arrived: a couple of well known singers. At that moment our table (the last table) was assigned to us, we had a wonderful dinner.

In Au Pied de Cochon we have always received great service, but this experience was unique, even if this situation was a matter of delivering good service, not many restaurants have the confidence to reject a VIP in order to respect another costumer. Congratulations Au Pied de Cochon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    181
    96
    34
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Eating French while in M.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Beautiful dinner with excellent seafood, fish or meat. The soufflé desert is a must!
The restaurant is located inside the premises of Intercontinental hotel in Polanco, Mexico City.
The service is accurate and the place had a nice warm ambiance. I had fish for main while my colleges had meat. We were all satisfied and content. The soufflé was the nicest surprise, fluffy and silky just like in a good place in France. We started with one, ended ordering another 2!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was our second time to Au Pied de Cochon and we really enjoyed it. Escargot delish, good wine, tasty entres! Great place to see some famous faces as well! (I wont say who!) Will definetly be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced ordinary food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Nothing french about this restaurant except for its prices on the menu! Avoid. Food wasn't great. Service is good though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

There were a lot of things wrong with this restaurant although the food was fairly good, yet over priced.
First, the service is overbearing. Jus too much of it, yet it is still very slow. You get a lot of attention, but nobody is empowered to solve your problem. Don't ask for another glass of wine from the waiter, he's not allowed to bring it. Only the wine steward because only he has the key to the wine cellar. And I was drinking the cheapest local wine, mind you. So anticipate your needs.
Secondly the lighting. Way to bright. Lights literally glaring and reflecting off your table, off the menu, off the walls.
Add to this the euro jazzy music played way too loud.
Not a good atmosphere at all.
My salmon was ok but you really can screw up salmon. But my friends highly touted French fries were cold. Everything is served with such reverence that you think it was the last supper. I wasn't buying the drama.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Pied de Cochon also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Au Pied de Cochon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Pied de Cochon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.