We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced ordinary food!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Au Pied de Cochon

Au Pied de Cochon
Campos Eliseos 218 | Presidente Inter-Continental Mexico City, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Polanco)
555-327-7700
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Au Pied de Cochon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 1,811 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced ordinary food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Nothing french about this restaurant except for its prices on the menu! Avoid. Food wasn't great. Service is good though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    101
    36
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

There were a lot of things wrong with this restaurant although the food was fairly good, yet over priced.
First, the service is overbearing. Jus too much of it, yet it is still very slow. You get a lot of attention, but nobody is empowered to solve your problem. Don't ask for another glass of wine from the waiter, he's not allowed to bring it. Only the wine steward because only he has the key to the wine cellar. And I was drinking the cheapest local wine, mind you. So anticipate your needs.
Secondly the lighting. Way to bright. Lights literally glaring and reflecting off your table, off the menu, off the walls.
Add to this the euro jazzy music played way too loud.
Not a good atmosphere at all.
My salmon was ok but you really can screw up salmon. But my friends highly touted French fries were cold. Everything is served with such reverence that you think it was the last supper. I wasn't buying the drama.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“As in Paris ... almost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good effort to look like a Paris bistrot, but obviously not like the real 'Pied de Cochon'.
I gave the ;Pied' a try and it was delicious. You better know what you started. It comes as a complete pig's foot and has a lot of fat around it, but strip all the fat and the meat left is dry, succulent and delicious.
Service was a bit slow.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequisquiapan, Mexico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“French Cuisine in Mexico City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband loves this restaurant located in the Polanco district of Mexico City. I have eaten there 5 times and I always feel as if I am in Paris. Fresh oysters!!!!! Excellent service. A few months ago, I took a friend who was visiting from Canada. We were the first arrivals but by the time we finished (we took our time enjoying the meal) Au Pied was full!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good file mignon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Tasty...good meat. Favorite restaurant of a friend of us...

Nothing to complain about...( I did not get the bill..I bet it was not inexpensive).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Pied de Cochon also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Au Pied de Cochon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Pied de Cochon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.