We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexico City - Feb 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au Pied de Cochon

Au Pied de Cochon
Campos Eliseos 218 | Presidente Inter-Continental Mexico City, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Polanco)
+52 55 5327 7700
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Au Pied de Cochon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 2,268 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mexico City - Feb 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The closest thing to Paris while in Mexico City! Came here for lunch while on vacation. Had to have the signature dish...pied de cochon! Wow, must say never had a pig's foot like that ever! Formal, classic dining room facing the beautiful tree lined streets of Polanco.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    125
    42
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I accidentally eaten here while I was a guest at Intercontinental Presidente. I had no idea it was well known and highly recommended. The service is perfect but the food is ordinary. It's too expensive for the food it offers.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto ON Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Service and Food in Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to eat here rather than The Palm and were not disappointed. Our best meal in Mexico City and probably top service even with the restos we have hit in Quebec City, Montreal, Toronto, etc
We had the beef tartare to start. Perfect seasoning.
I had the scallops and risotto. Perfect risotto and the scallops were cooked to perfection
My husband had the suckling pig .. out of this world
We shared the sampler dessert which was perfection.
Wine selection is the best I have ever seen and the sommelier knows his stuff

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great example of French restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was one of the best meals we had in our trip to Mexico! The service was excellent, the food was excellent and the wine list, desserts, everything! I am glad we went there on our last night at the Intercontinental as we were originally looking for other restaurants outside the hotel but when we saw the really good reviews it had on Trip Advisor we decided to give it a go. And we didn't regret it. If you like French food, you should try it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Food is a lot better when you're not here for business!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had previously visited here for business breakfast/ lunches/ dinners and didn't like how the place was packed and noisy. This time, we went for an early personal lunch (well, normal lunch at 12ish, but early for Mexican 2pm) and it was much more enjoyable. The wait staff was sleepy at first, probably those who were from the busy breakfast shift, but the service level and pace picked up later.

For starters, we had escargot (very tender) and soupe de poisson (delicious). We then moved on to duck confit and slow roasted lamb leg for mains, both of which were excellent. The only disappointment was dessert, strawberry gazpacho, which was too sweet for our taste.

Definitely a more enjoyable experience when you're not here for work!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Pied de Cochon also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Au Pied de Cochon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Pied de Cochon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.