We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Au Pied de Cochon

Au Pied de Cochon
Campos Eliseos 218 | Presidente Inter-Continental Mexico City, Mexico City 11560, Mexico (Polanco)
555-327-7700
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 1,659 restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Polanco
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I accidentally eaten here while I was a guest at Intercontinental Presidente. I had no idea it was well known and highly recommended. The service is perfect but the food is ordinary. It's too expensive for the food it offers.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    166
    90
    33
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto ON Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Service and Food in Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to eat here rather than The Palm and were not disappointed. Our best meal in Mexico City and probably top service even with the restos we have hit in Quebec City, Montreal, Toronto, etc
We had the beef tartare to start. Perfect seasoning.
I had the scallops and risotto. Perfect risotto and the scallops were cooked to perfection
My husband had the suckling pig .. out of this world
We shared the sampler dessert which was perfection.
Wine selection is the best I have ever seen and the sommelier knows his stuff

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great example of French restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was one of the best meals we had in our trip to Mexico! The service was excellent, the food was excellent and the wine list, desserts, everything! I am glad we went there on our last night at the Intercontinental as we were originally looking for other restaurants outside the hotel but when we saw the really good reviews it had on Trip Advisor we decided to give it a go. And we didn't regret it. If you like French food, you should try it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Food is a lot better when you're not here for business!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had previously visited here for business breakfast/ lunches/ dinners and didn't like how the place was packed and noisy. This time, we went for an early personal lunch (well, normal lunch at 12ish, but early for Mexican 2pm) and it was much more enjoyable. The wait staff was sleepy at first, probably those who were from the busy breakfast shift, but the service level and pace picked up later.

For starters, we had escargot (very tender) and soupe de poisson (delicious). We then moved on to duck confit and slow roasted lamb leg for mains, both of which were excellent. The only disappointment was dessert, strawberry gazpacho, which was too sweet for our taste.

Definitely a more enjoyable experience when you're not here for work!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pardon, mais ici, on mange Frances!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

For me the most authentic French restaurant in Mexico. The place allows for Bistro kitchen and atmosphere as well for fine French haute cuisine, we enjoyed various business lunches and would return for the excellent taste and atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Pied de Cochon also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Au Pied de Cochon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Pied de Cochon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.