We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Winston Churchill's

Sir Winston Churchill's
Blvd. Manuel Avila Camacho 67, Polanco, Mexico City 11560, Mexico
(55) 5280-6070
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 2,193 Restaurants in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
df
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

An exquisite house is the home for this restaurant. British style in every detail of decor gives a unique ambiance, very cozy and very elegant. Expensive but worth to try it, has been succesful through decades with faithful customers and delighted new ones. Known for the regular visit of celebrities and politicians, it has a unique flavor as well as cuisine. Wellington beef is one of their specialties and I must say, could be even better rated than an english restaurant in London itself.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    35
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The most pretentous Restaurant in Mexico”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The service is acceptable and cordial. The food prices are extremely high and the food does not reflect any refinement. The Wine list is of poor selection and extremely expensive.
The worst quality/price ratio.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“London in Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The moment you enter Churchill's you are transportes to a town house in England, decoration is definitively oeverwhelming. Service is very attentive, and food is outstanding. Among the best are the Prime Roast, that comes in three different sizes, very well made with a yorkshire pudding on the side. Lentil soup is a must also. Their wine list is on the short side, with some good mexican wines on it. Dessert car is impressive. Candlelit dinners are hte most romantic, or ask to dine in one of the gazebos in the garden.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning, breathtaking food, albeit at a price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just about gets 5* over a 4* review, but that it literally just a price thing. The food is possibly the best I've tasted in a restaurant anywhere. I just did not want the meal to end. Shame the waiters don't speak better English to add to the perfectly "posh dinning hall" experience one will experience. (Don't get me wrong, it's not Guild Hall, but is is packed full of Britishness never-the-less.)
Highly recommended for a night off from chilli everything! :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not all that glitters is gold”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

In a great location, very stunning gardens, reception and a Classic English decoration (not my style but I recognize is finely put) this restaurant is one deception after an other.

First of all service is deficient. Waiters confuse orders and I was asked twice for a beverage I ordered on my arrival that took too long to serve.

I ordered the spinach salad and there were literally 4 leaves of spinach soaked on a mayo-style dressing

Overall food quality is average tending to bad but prices are PREMIUM. I don't mind paying a lot for good food but this place delivers very short


Definitely an extremely expensive place with very poor food and deficient service: not recommended at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Winston Churchill's also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sir Winston Churchill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Winston Churchill's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.