We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unextraordinary in every respect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur to your Saves list
City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Insurgentes Sur 1581 | Col. San José Insurgentes Del. Benito Juárez, Mexico City 03900, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Unextraordinary in every respect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

It's a pretty bland hotel. I'm pretty sure that you can find something with more character and amenities at about the same price. I stayed here because it was close to where my friend lives, but now that I know the city a little bit better I would feel comfortable staying elsewhere.

Desk help was friendly and helpful, but the breakfasts were minimal. The rooms were clean but lacked little things that can make a difference. Like enough drinking glasses, washcloths etc.

There is a VIPS restaurant attached to the hotel and the ambiance and food matched the mediocrity of the hotel.

Room Tip: I had an inside room far from the elevator which had a view of a courtyard that was covered by some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest
We just want to send a short note to say that we are aware of the drawback of our hotel. We commit ourselves to continue to improve our services to meet 100% with your needs.
Thank you very much and hope to see you there at other times
We remain at your entire disposal, we parted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    28
    20
    5
    5
See reviews for
10
8
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Well I went there to make a reservation and pay for the days my family would stay there, the day they came in my family called me saying that the lady didn't recognize not even the payment but the reservation either. Later when I went there to visit them I found a lot of thrash and old mattresses on the hallways (just uploaded a picture). Still they told me they had a good time there. I'm not so sure I would go there as my first choice to host my family again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all I want to offer you an apology for any inconvenience during your stay in reference with the incident with the service as this helps us to identify our areas of opportunity and work on them to improve the quality of our services; we reported that we have implemented corrective action in relation to your comment.
Waiting us the chance to have your preference and serve you as you deserve.
We are at your service.
GREETINGS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is in the south so very convenient for places such as Coyoacan, UNAM, San Angel, etc., but not so close to the city centre, Condesa, Polanco, etc. If your trip is focused in the south of the city, this is a good place to stay: very comfortable rooms, excellent service, good value. The breakfast is very simple and not great, but overall it was a great stay (stayed 4 nights in August 2013).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlen C, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Good afternoon Mauricio,

Thanks for contacting us, it is a pleasure to know that your stay in our hotel City Express Insurgentes, meet your expectations and know that our standards of service and quality, made ​​to feel very comfortable during their stay.

We said goodbye to you, but first thank you for your preference.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We chose this hotel based on the location, and it worked well for us. The hotel is pretty new, and is very clean and modern and safe. The staff is very friendly, attentive and helpful. There are two restaurants with entrances on the lower floor of the hotel- we enjoyed the Argentine restaurant (El Diego) but did not try the other (VIPS- a chain restaurant like Denny's). The rooms are not large, but the floor-to-ceiling window made them bright. There was ample space to lay our suitcases. (Pictures that are posted by the hotel are accurate.) There was a hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. The beds are really firm with fluffy comforters. The bathrooms have big showers but no tubs. The air conditioner made a funny sound, kind of like an aquarium, but it worked well. There are staff on the property 24 hours a day, so getting a taxi before 5:00 a.m. was not a problem. There is a business center with free internet access, and the rooms have free wi-fi. Breakfast is included.

The downsides: There is a TV the size of a computer monitor which was hard to see from the beds. There is no clock in the room, so we relied on our cell phones when we needed an alarm, although wake-up calls are offered.

We would stay there again, for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms near the front can get street noise, so ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know that our hotel City Express Insurgentes exceeded their expectations and have made ​​me feel very comfortable. We appreciate the confidence he had in sharing their experience
Thank you very much and hope to keep their presence on other occasions
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel that is more to South, ie closer to San Angel, Coyoacan, or the business cluster around Plaza Inn, or the Torre Insurgentes, this hotel is definitely a budget option. Not as fancy as nearby Fiesta Inn, but also better priced. The hotel is clean, beds good, free WiFi works, and the breakfast buffet is not necessarily sumptuous or top notch quality but good enough.
What I missed: an iron or a water heater (for tea or coffee) in the room. Otherwise: the location is good. The "metrobus" stops in front of the hotel and the "Barranca de Muerto" subway station is not too far a walk away (but not right next door either).

Room Tip: Should you book online, be sure to get a confirmation, though. I did not check that and when I arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ControlCalidad, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is our pleasure to host you at City Express Insurgentes. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are happy to know that the quality of the service met your expectations, that you had a comfortable stay and that the hotel´s location worked great for both your transportation and entertainment needs. We hope to host you again soon either in Mexico City or in any other hotel of the City Express chain around Mexico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I really enjoyed the staying (it's not an incredible hotel but I have no complaints). The workers were very polite and efficient. The have buffet breakfast included. The rooms are comfortable, with double beds. They have a Vips down the stairs, that may be helpful. And the MetroBus is very accessible (that way you can travel easier around the city). And there's a theater next to the hotel (we went to a play with Demián Bichir, Alfonso Herrera and Ana de la Reguera). Great soundproof. I do recomend you to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalidadyServicio, Guest Relations Manager at City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is our pleasure to host you at City Express Insurgentes. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are happy to know that the quality of the service met your expectations, that you had a comfortable stay and that the hotel´s location worked great for both your transportation and entertainment needs. We hope to host you again soon either in Mexico City or in any other hotel of the City Express chain around Mexico.
Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

Comfortable rooms - a double bed in every single room; two in a double. Buffet breakfast included. VIPs restaurant in the building; Sanborne's in the shopping mall next door; and lots of other restaurants around.

Well down in the south of the city.

On a major highway, but the soundproofing is excellent.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur

Address: Av. Insurgentes Sur 1581 | Col. San José Insurgentes Del. Benito Juárez, Mexico City 03900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 293 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur 2*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cityexpress Insurgentes Sur Hotel Mexico City
City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Express Plus Insurgentes Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.