We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lions in poor conditions” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Park Villa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Park Villa to your Saves list
Hotel Park Villa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Park Villa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gomez Pedraza 68, Mexico City 11870, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 279 hotels in Mexico City
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lions in poor conditions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Hotel is good value for money, the rooms are super small but have everything you need and are very cozy decorated. The rather negative point for us and our children, is that they have on the outside of the restaurant a lion and a lioness in a super-small cages, which is quite unfair to those animals that require a space a thousand times largest than in which are currently confined. I would never go to that hotel for that situation and we do not understand how it allows the owner of the hotel, having these animals in such precarious conditions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
1
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Is a small hotel with a beautiful garden where you can relax after your daily activities. Located in front of Chapultepec Park you can reach the museums located in the area in less than 10 minutes. The room is big enough for two persons, the bathroom has all the complementary facilities you need and is everyday well cleaned. The restaurant offers a wide variety of food with a good flavor, good service and the incredible view of two lions. The staff is friendly and immediately help you whatever you need. Quick check in and out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The Hotel Park Villa in Mexico City is relaxing and charming. The garden is beautiful and provides a tranquil escape from the city. The food and service in the restaurant in the villa is outstanding. If you love great food, service and need a green reprieve from the city, stay at Hotel Park Villa.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yampalin@aol.com
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We chose this family owned small hotel because of its location and price, knowing it has excellent service and resembles a colonial spanish hacienda or large home with an inside patio (which is really for guests with cars, making this hotel what is known in the US as a motel).

Location was important for personal reasons, but leaving that aside, others will find the area a comfortable place near Chapultepec Park with reasonably easy access to transportation. The hotel is 45 years old but maintained very nicely and does not look old at all, with its colonial architecture and decorations. Quite beautiful. It has a sister luxury hotel next to it which is tailor made for business people.

We chose a small room (too small for my taste, with a double bed which could and should have been queen size) for a low price of 790 pesos per night for my wife and I, because it was the one available of only two rooms with air condition (prices are slightly higher for bigger rooms but without air condition), important to us in order to keep the windows closed at night and not have to listen to traffic at dawn, making sleep difficult after 4am. Others might be comfortable with opening the windows at night to get fresh air and not be bothered by the noise coming from cars, buses and trucks. The rooms do not have refrigerators, but they do contain free bottled water, flat television with programs in spanish and english, acceptably sized bathrooms with acceptably few amenities, the necessary ones. Lighting, however, was very poor in our room and perhaps also in other rooms.

The hotel does not offer breakfast free of charge, but it does have a restaurant operated separate from the hotel by the same family. A very good, well known and popular restaurant that opens up to a courtyard very beautifully landscaped with trees and bushes, plus 9 guacamayas and two lions (male and female) that like to let you know they are alive and well in the late morning and early afternoon, perhaps either to announce they are hungry, or the reverse, that they have eaten well. There is also a place for children to play while adults enjoy their meals.

The hotel offers free internet, except in the section where we were, because the owners refuse to spend money to buy the required new modem and instead invite guests to use the service in the restaurant, the courtyard or just move to another room in a different section where the service works. We chose the restaurant in the early morning and at night because it was fairly empty and did not bother anyone. We also enjoyed the guitar singer who plays every week night (did not ask why not the weekend as well).

The restaurant is excellent, with quality food and excellent service. Prices are acceptable for some items, high for others (such as fruits). For breakfast, we recommend “huevos rancheros al gusto” which is very good and inexpensive. Coffee drinkers will find they only have to pay for the first cup.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has the internet available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I had a perfectly great room at a great price but at a remove from downtown. I moved here to be closer in to a friend. It is across from Chapultepec Park. There is a reason they don't show pictures of the rooms on the website, although the room is not bad looking. It is a more traditional low rise exterior walkway hotel. Problems: first of all room smells of air freshener, I am allergic to this. They did warn me that there is no air conditioning or heat but did not tell me there would also not be enough blankets. Bed hard as a rock. Bathroom and decor uninspired and chips in the plaster of the wall. The rate is reasonable but I am able to pay more. If price and proximity to the park are your primary considerations you might be able tolerate the air freshener. i am trying to move to the other property owned by the same group, but still awaiting their verdict. I wish I had stayed out at the Camino Real and paid the extra money in taxi fares.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

This was the second time we stayed at the Park Villa. We highly recommend this cute little hotel with the first class accommdations, The rooms are lovely, clean and confortable. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. They have a very, very nice restaurant.
We always ate breakfast, one we had a mexican breakfast, the next day we had a very american breakfast to even a continental breakfast. Dinner is also very good and reasonable. Its located in an area that is easy to get to any where you want to go, the staff was helpful in giving us directions on how to get around the city on the bus. When ever we come to Mexico City, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

Quiet comfortable room. Reasonable price. Helpful staff. Good courtyard restaurant with garden features two (safely) caged lions - and hummingbirds that visit the flowers. A mariachi band played in the restaurant as we arrived. From our room, the occasional roaring of the lions was audible - but only loud enough to be fun, not disturbing. Convenient location a short block from Chapultepec Park and the National History Museum, a short cab ride from restaurant and shopping districts. Alejandro was ever eager to help with bags and details.

  • Liked — Comfortable clean quiet room helpful staff good food convenient location reasonable rate free fast wireless internet
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Park Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Park Villa

Address: Gomez Pedraza 68, Mexico City 11870, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 279 hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Park Villa 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Park Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Park Villa Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Park Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.