We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexico City Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mexico City Hostel to your Saves list
Mexico City Hostel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Republica de Brasil 8 y 11 | Colonia Centro Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I've stayed at Mexico City Hostel at least four or five times in the last few years. Here are some of my experiences:

Positive:
1. The staff are usually friendly and helpful.
2. Breakfast is good - usually eggs, toast, coffee, juice, yogurt, and fruit.

Negative:
1. Eight person dorm can get a bit smelly due to lack of an external window. It has windows that open into the middle atrium of the hostel which is makes it bearable.
2. In my experience the folks I've met here are not as friendly as at other hostals. It may be due to the fact that there are more people here than a usual hostal. But overall, I haven't connected with people here as quickly as in most other hostals.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    98
    32
    15
    6
See reviews for
8
73
78
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The first thing I noticed about this hostel, which was a very welcome change after some less-than-hygienic places I had stayed at recently, was how clean this hostel was. It does its job well: beds are comfortable, breakfast is decent, it's in a nice old building which has been done up well, and it's good value for money, especially for its incredibly central location. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is perhaps lacking in atmosphere--I found that it wasn't a very friendly hostel, people didn't really speak to each other, but I find that tends to be the case in hostels located in big cities.
Staff were decent, some were more helpful than others and they provided you with everything you needed. I would highly recommend this if you're looking for a place to stay in the Zócalo.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A very good hostel! The location couldn`t be better, only a few meters away from the Zocalo. Staff, including the watchman, are very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms and toilets are very clean. Good breakfasts and good coffee!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 in the hostel (private room, shared bathroom). Very big room with a small balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Spent one night in a private room (one double two singles, on two levels). Very clean, nicely furnished with very friendly reception staff. Didnt spend very long in the hostel at all but it was quiet and more importantly for me the recpetion sold the cheapest beer i found in any hostel in the city! Amazing location right next to the cathedral on the Zocalo as well.

Room Tip: There are 2 hostel buildings, one on each side of the street. The newly renovated one is much nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

There are two locations, Brasil No 8 and Brasil No 11. They are both located on the same street, just opposite each other. Both are behind the cathedral/zocalo. It is an Excellent location as literally right around the corner you will face the cathedral. If you want location, location, location, there is no better place to stay than zocalo. Lots of things within walking distance (shops, restaurants, bars, clubs though the last two both of the local kind). If you are a city person at heart stay in the zocalo.

This location is great because it is further back behind the zocalo so gets considerably less street noise than those buildings which face the zocalo. The hostels itself is also very quiet, no large racquet or partying noise emanating from the common areas to your dorm. But the common areas... No 8 has not character at all. There is no true common area, just extra wide hallways. Eating area only has tables for 2, which makes it awkward to pull up a chair and sit next to a stranger. Tables for 4 with 2 strangers would be less intrusive and facilitate meeting of travellers. This place has a business traveller vibe to it. Just very quiet and people going about their business, people don't even lift up their head to say hello in passing. And it's really all about the interior architecture of the building. If you are a single traveller I wouldn't recommend this place as it's difficult to establish connections and meet people. If you are a group of friends then yes this is a good value. This place is CLEAN too. I walked around barefoot in my room and didn't feel any dirt on my feet. But the sanitized conditions also lead to a sanitized environment, which is sad.

No 11. This location is newer. Common area is slightly better with bean bags, and square room as opposed to a rectangular room, so easier to bump into everyone. Eating area also has rows of table, which allows you to slide up to other people without seeming obnoxious or desperate. Still lacks character, but the modern interior design slightly makes up for this. This place is also clean.

Both places rent out towels. 100 pesos deposit which you get back at the end of your stay. The towel is cleaner than what you will find at American motels, and very thick quality.

Room Tip: Ask for room 21 in Brasil No 8. Tucked in the corner of the hostel so you won't get the common a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had booked a bed in a 8-bed-dormitory but since it was during the week, we were only two people in there. The whole hostel was really really clean. The breakfast was ok, the staff most of the time really nice.

Room Tip: I had room 23 which had windows towards the inner yard. When people were talking there in the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

a stop in the city on our way south for work, but we'll be back on our way out of the country. good breakfast, very very clean, excellent showers and amazing central location. Lovely old building, which does mean it has old building acoustics, and was a bit loud at night with people coming in from nights out. still, we were impressed and will be back.

Room Tip: higher floors, probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#34 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#20 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico
#3 of 295 in Mexico City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
Hostel Mundo Joven Catedral
#10 of 150 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Amigo
Hostel Amigo
#12 of 150 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexico City Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexico City Hostel

Address: Republica de Brasil 8 y 11 | Colonia Centro Delegacion Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mexico City Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mexico City Hostel and its renovated brother Mexico City Hostel Suites consists of two beautiful colonial buildings -right across from each other- and are located just a few steps from Zocalo in Mexico City's Historic Center. This colonial places will make you feel like home involved in a Mexican atmosphere. We are very close to interest places for Mexican tourist as well as backpackers from all around the world, such as galleries, museums, shops, markets, bars or night clubs, artisans, historic buildings, monuments and squares. We provide 3 types of peaceful, comfortable and spacious accommodation: private rooms with bathroom, private rooms without bathroom and cozy dormitories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mexico City Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexico City Hotel Mexico City
Mexico City Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexico City Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.