We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stay there again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dakota 95 | Col Napoles, Mexico City 03810, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #145 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never stay there again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We asked for a Kingbed, got a double. We were placed directly across from the kitchen, the room smelled of food and of course kitchen staff started working around 4 in the morning. The food was terrible ended up getting very ill. If you can stay somewhere else, do it. Very outdated

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear LandS03,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in us and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in us soon.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
16
3
15
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The best asset of this property is that is located right behind Mexico city's WTC., one block from busy Insurgentes Avenue.
Clean, everything average.
The gym is also average. A few machines, located right across the hallway from the main (average) breakfast area. A little uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Luis C,

Thank you for choosing our location and taking the time to post a review about our hotel. I am sorry to hear that we were not able to exceed your expectations. Rest assured that I have shared your comments with our hotel management to consider making improvements where necessary. Your satisfaction is of utmost concern to us as we always strive to make your experience a great one.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Holiday Inn Express and Suites? Suites? (Who would have guessed). I stayed at this hotel numerous times for work. I must say it is a great option location wise. Just on the outskirts of the Center of the DF and close to many hot spots. A good 20 minute drive away from the airport in light traffic. The building currently used by the hotel and under very slow renovation used to be a Children’s Hospital. It may come across as dandy on the net but pics are often times deceiving. Staff is friendly. Corridors are old and have had paint dabbed on to look new. Carpets in the corridors are also old and mildewed. Rooms are small and old. Quality furniture and good décor are lacking. Bathrooms are okay and so are the channels on the TV. Internet connection however is EXTREMELY poor and constantly disconnects. All rooms I’ve been in seem to have the same issue. Mini continental breakfast is included but there isn’t much to choose from. I would recommend spending the extra dollars at Ihops located in the World Trade Center building three streets away. There is a small gym located on the first floor next to the breakfast area. Just aft of the lobby is a free business center. All in all, if you are not expecting a bang for your buck then this might be your option.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear O_SanJose,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is wonderful to know you appreciate our location and our friendly staff. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the condition of our facilities. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I sincerely hope you stay with us again in the future so we can show you just how exceptional we can be.

Thank you again for your review and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I understand that this is a Holiday Inn Express and therefore considered a budget hotel, however I have not stayed in a Hotel this bad since college when we crammed 5 guys in one room. I paid $116 USD for a room with a discount that should have cost $45 USD at best. As far as I can tell this was a run down apartment complex that was poorly dressed up and pinned with a HIE sign out front. It is attached to a Crowne Plaza which actually looks pretty nice.
Where do I begin? The front desk was slow an unhelpful. The carpet in the halls had seams every 10 feet with strings coming out. The beds had the box springs exposed. Every channel on the TV was fuzzy. I could go on and on but I'm sure you get the point. Don't chase Holiday Inn Points! Go somewhere else. Anyone who rated this 4 much less 5 stars needs their head examined!
On the positive side the area is great! Safe, fun to walk, good sights, and good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear bigshinywheels,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the shortcomings in your room during your recent stay with us. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This property has a lot of ups and downs.

The good:
- The beds are just about perfect; not too firm, not too soft.
- Location. This is super-close to the WTC, with great restaurants in a safe neighborhood.
- Wifi. I'm not having the same problems as some of the earlier reviewers. Not sure if this is due to the improvements the manager noted, or if I'm just in a better part of the building
- The breakfast. Surprisingly good. Great selection of fresh fruit, and the eggs are good. Everything is a little on the surgary side, but this is a plus in my book.
- The rooms are large. Lots of space, and everything seems to work.
- So far, the service has been good, if a little overwhelmed.
- Pretty solid price; I paid about $100 USD per night.
- Bathroom is very clean.

The bad:
- The rooms are worn out. My carpet is stained and looks worn, to the point I don't want to walk on it in bare feet. The sheets are washed, but stained. The chairs in my room and in the breakfast room are stained / marked. Yuck.
- The shower has great pressure, but the door was designed by someone who didn't care if it actually kept the water off the floor. My floor is wet after every shower.
- No in-room safe! Seriously?
- They claim the water is potable. I wouldn't drink it. But, they charge for agua purificada. So, now I have to go shopping. BOO!
- Really needs some sound-proofing. I can hear the man (yes, I'm that sure it's a man) next door getting dressed.

The Ugly:
- DId I mention that everything needs to be ripped out an replaced? I did? Oh, we'll it needs to be mentioned again.

What's so odd about this is that the Crowne Plaza next door (owned by the same company) is REALLY nice. This place could a great value if the would just replace the carpet, sheet, and chairs with some new ones.

Room Tip: Low numbers are better (e.g. xx01 is better than xx1) because it's further from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meapmx, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Response to: Eyewall1

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for a very constructive opinion where you took a valuable time to write every one of the points that you observed during your recent stay at our hotel. This kind of comments help us to improve every day.

I will take note of each one of them and we hope that despite those bad points, the goods will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the WTC.

Sincerely,

Luis Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Well, I spend almost 50% of my time traveling, so I think I know a bit about hotels. I don't understand how this property passed the hotel chain inspection in terms of safety. I will just say that the room doors are made of cardboard, no fire or smoke rating at all; not even the fire exit doors are certified. Worst of all, there is no insulation, you hear your neighbors snoring, washing, talking, etc. I must say though, that the beds are very good and the personnel is nice. Breakfast is OK but WIFI is a big failure (unless you try working after midnight or in mid morning).
I only stay here for its location and the loyalty card points. Try it yourselves. Hope IHG does something about this property that doesn't meet their standards.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meapmx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Response to: lasegua

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking some minutes to write about your recent visit to our property. I really appreciatte this valuable information because you opinion is the best way to know our performance.

Safety is the most important standard that the chain qualifies from each hotel. I can assure you that exit doors are certified. In other way, there are no chance to belong to IHG. Regarding the internet we are currently replacing access points in the whole buiding and increasign bandwitdth to provide a much better service. I will take note about the noise between rooms. Your comfort is definately our goal.

Once again I appreciatte too much your attention and I hope you will give us a new opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerely,

Luis Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express at the World Trade Center (WTC) has only one positive attribute to which I can comment...location. It is located 100 yards from the World Trade Center and there are tons of restaurants to which you can easily walk. This is a great attribute, but wait for the rest.
For business travelers, I do not recommend this place. Here's why:
1. Non-exisitent Internet. I literally was offline the whole week. I was living off my iphone trying to get something productive done, but it was a lost week, production wise.
2. Multiple items in my room needed to be repaired. My desk chair was so bad that I sat in my bed and worked. The door knob was broken and I had to ask twice, on 2 separate days, for them to repair it because the door wouldn't close. The curtains were torn. The shower was designed in such a way that I had water all over my bathroom floor every time I took a shower. The supposedly modern sink and counter design is such that you get even more water on the floor. Basically the whole design is trying to be modern, but it's not functional.
3. Bell hops were worthless. I showed up with what was obivously 3 very heavy suitcases, full of marketing stuff, and the bell hop watched me and the cabby drag them to the check-in desk. After I got to the desk, the bell hop showed up with his cart....really? Then when I was checking out, I had to call twice for a bell hop to come to my room to get the bags....sat around for 30 minutes. By the way, I was the only person checking out. We didn't have some tour group that had the bell hop "hopping".
4. The air conditioner was so loud that I would try to get the room as cold as possible at night and then turn if off so I could sleep.

Again, unless the location is your thing, look somewhere else.

Room Tip: I think the location in the hotel doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meapmx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Mr. CSVerdad,

Dear Guest,

Please receive my best regards and my thankfulness for your valuable time to answer this survey. All your comments are helping us to improve our services. I will take note of each one of them. Let me give you a brief answer about each item you mentioned.
- Internet. Our IT department is replacing our access points in the whole building and some other improvements are taking place. The internet service will be working properly for our business travelers at the end of May.
- Items or equipment in room are being reviewed and if something must be replaced we have to do it. No excuses about that.
- Our most concern is to offer an excellent service through our staff, so if one of them fails, all of us are failing. We appreciate too much your comment about the bell staff. Our training about customer care must be increased definately.

Once again I really appreciate your kind attention and I hope that you will give us a new opportunity to welcome you at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites at the WTC.

Sincerly,


Luis Ramos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC

Address: Dakota 95 | Col Napoles, Mexico City 03810, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is strategically located in the World Trade Center complex, in the financial and commercial district of Mexico City. Entertainment, shops and restaurants in a walking distance - Well-appointed guestrooms, Wireless Internet access, Gym and Terrace. 31 family Suites with breakfast table, microwave, coffee maker, and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites At The Wtc
Holiday Inn Mexico City
Mexico City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites At The WTC Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at the WTC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.