We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean but very noisy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Azores

Save Saved
You added Hotel Azores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Azores
Republica de Brasil 25, Mexico City 00610, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 279 hotels in Mexico City
UK
1 review
“Cheap, clean but very noisy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

This hotel has a very good location. Literally 30 seconds from the Zocalo. It's clean, modern and well runned but the rooms are around a central courtyard that brings all the noise from the hall to the rooms upstairs. We were at the fourth floor but we could hear noise, shoutings and laughings from the hall. Also there is some noise from the roof where some engine (probably fans for the airconditioning) are always on.
The room was very clean and each room comes with a security box (very helpful!!). The service was fine, no complains. Apparently the hot water is discontinuous, morning and late evening. But it's not a problem if you are a tourist all day visiting the city and coming back late.
About the staff, only one person was able to speak very good english, the others speaking only spanish. We do not reccomand the restaurant, both for breakfast and meals. You can find good other places around Mexico City.
In the end we reccomend this hotel to young people that want a cheap but clean hotel for few nights.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    22
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
14
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hinton St George, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

we arrived at 9pm and despite having a reservation we had to wait 30 mins as they cleaned our room. Well cleaned is debatable! The room was tiny just enough room for a double bed. To wash you almost has to sit on the toilet. The place was noisy and reminded me of kings cross station. To top it all it was expensive. The next day we checked out and went to hotel Washington, a much better option.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

My husband and I arrived in Mexico City in late August, and wanted a cheap but clean and comfortable place to stay for a few days before moving on to the Yucatan. We were going to stayed in the Hostel Catedral (of Hostelling International) which is just at the edge of the Zocalo (the main square) but they didn't have a private room available, so my husband strolled down a couple of blocks and stumbled across Hotel Azores. It looks very classy as you walk in; marble floors and walls, a little restaurant, nice reception area, and we were convinced that it would be out of our price-range (as the staff at the hostel had assured us there were no cheap hotels nearby). It turned out that it only cost $29 a night (10 dollars cheaper than a private room at the hostel) and it also had it's own private bathroom.

The room and bathroom themselves were quite small, and the TV only showed the local channels, but we weren't there to watch TV anyway! It was clean and comfortable, and although there was no fan or air-conditioning, we really didn't find them necessary anyway, as the room remained at quite a comfortable temperature. There aren't really windows as such, just a large frosted window across one side of the room to allow in some light, and anyway outside there is only a view of the hotel's courtyard. The room could get a little stuffy at times, but just leave the door open for a little bit each time you go in and it's fine.

The location is excellent, right in the centre of town with easy access to the metro and taxis all around (but get the hotel to order you a taxi, for security reasons).

The staff were friendly, and helped us when we needed it. They were rather relaxed when we checked in and we had to wait about 20 minutes while they prepared the room, but given that we'd just turned up without booking, this was probably to be expected.

The restaurant downstairs serves nice food, a variety, and is reasonably priced. The waiters are friendly too.

If you're on a budget, I'd recommend this hotel anytime, as it's more comfortable and cheaper than staying in a hostel if you're a couple.

  • Liked — Cheap, comfortable, conveniently located, helpful staff, nice restaurant
  • Disliked — No views or proper windows but this is reflected in the cheap price.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

The location of the Hotel Azores is great. It is just a short walk from the Zocalo and close to the Allende metro station (as well as the Zocalo metro station). We were able to walk to everything that we wanted to see in the historic district. We stayed in a King bed room and later in a double. Both rooms were fairly small. They were a little bit stuffy but one had a ceiling fan and the other a window to the street so the temperature was fine. The rooms are nothing spectacular but it is a good budget choice (we paid about $26.00 for the double and about 30 for the king). We felt the room was clean and fairly comfortable (but small). We felt safe. THe lobby and common areas are pleasant enough. The staff was fine (not overly friendly but nor were they rude)--We spoke Spanish but there seemed to be non-Spanish speaking guests who had no problems. THere is a clean, inexpensive restaurant in the lobby--we did not eat there but it would be a convenient option.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2006

the hotel has a good location, near the zocalo and the principal atractions
goos staff and good service for the price
small roons but cleans
a good opcion for budget travellers

Stayed August 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

The Hotel Azores is a decent, budget hotel in a great location on Republica de Brasil, just 2 minutes walk from the Zolalo in Mexico City. It's a 'mid-range hotel', but still pretty cheap. The rooms are above average for the price. While it's certainly no luxury hotel, it's a gem for budget travellers, especially considering the location. The staff are pretty sour-faced and speak only Spanish, but the rooms are very clean and the restaurant does good breakfasts.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Azores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azores

Address: Republica de Brasil 25, Mexico City 00610, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Azores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azores Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Azores Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Azores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.