We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Stay Even Better Than The First” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Azores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Azores to your Saves list
Hotel Azores
Republica de Brasil 25, Mexico City 00610, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 288 Hotels in Mexico City
oaxaca
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Return Stay Even Better Than The First”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I first stayed at Hotel Azores a few years ago, and thought it was okay, and good value for the money. This visit pleasantly surprised me because the hotel vastly exceeded my expectations. Staff was helpful, room was extremely clean, now with flat screen TVs, and value and location cannot be topped. I was travelling with a friend who had his own room, and another couple who similarly had their own room, so I was able to see three rooms. We were all impressed. I booked directly with the hotel, and stressed that I wanted a king bed, and my request was honoured. I recommend spending a few dollars more for a king if one is available. Rooms are small, but that's hard to get away from. Hot water was what one sometimes expects in Mexico, warm and tardy in arriving, but acceptable. Otherwise, no complaints at all. The location, a couple of blocks from the zócalo, and in the heart of downtown, easy taxi ride to anywhere, cannot be topped. I speak Spanish, so cannot comment on what experience you will have if you don't, in terms of communicating with staff and reserving directly with the hotel. But you can book online using a travel booking website as well.

Room Tip: Get a king if it's available. Otherwise, I did see a room with two doubles, and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
15
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I've always loved this hotel for its location and impeccable cleanliness and business class environment for a budget price. I have to say though during my recent stay the hotel seems to be going downhill. The staff was very unfriendly, and even downright rude. The hotel has taken away some amenities and is charging more for basic necessities. The staff was unwilling to help out with any request. This was very surprising as the staff has been great each time I've stayed in the past.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Right in the centre, few minutes walking from Zocalo, Azores is a good cheap hotel, with clean rooms and private bathroom. Perfect for visiting Mexico City.
We did not eat at the restaurant, when in Mexico City we always prefer to eat whe locals do.
We stayed there twice and hope to come back soon! :)

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Historical sites and thousands of little stores are located a few steps from the hotel.
The rooms are tiny but comfortable and the most important: safety box to keep a laptop

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I've stayed here twice. The hotel is only about two blocks from the Zocalo, so you can easily get to a number of downtown attractions (Zocalo area, Bellas Artes, the Alameda, etc) and the subway. The rooms are clean and have TVs, a closet, and a programmable safe. The hotel restaurant is also decent and pretty inexpensive.

There are only two minor downsides to this hotel: a) in the morning it gets kind of noisy, as lots of families with children seem to stay here, and b) after about 9pm the area around the hotel clears out and can get a bit sketchy (though the Zocalo is often still full of people), so I wouldn't recommend wandering back to the hotel too late, at least not with any valuables on hand.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

If you're interested in visiting the historical center, the location couldn't be better. There are lots of police officers in the area so you can walk 2 blocks to the Zocalo at night, no proble. The stores and most restaurants close before dinner time, so your options for dining in the area are limited. The hotel restaurant ("Los Portales" I think is the name) is excellent, very cheap, and open every night. I strongly recommend it, even if you're not staying at the hotel.
As for the hotel itself, it looks modern on the outside, the paint, the lobby, the magnetic card keys. But the rooms inside are a bit old-fashioned, small, and a little dark. Cable TV has very few channels and the bathroom is tiny, with the shower flooding the whole place, so if you take a shower in the afternoon, the place gets completely wet and dangerous to use. If at least they provided a mop or squeegy to wipe it off... The windows overlook the center of the building, so in addition to no view it can be pretty noisy from other rooms at night. There are other noises, from a power generator or some other machine all night long. Awful. We changed rooms twice as the room safe was removed from the wall, so even if you could lock it, anyone could walk away with the box and your valuables within. The third one was approprietly stuck to the wall, as it should be. The staff is very polite and responded favorably to our room safe complaint. That's a good point. They also have a room to store your baggage after check-out, in case you have a late flight. If your trip entails being away most of the day and get to the hotel to dine and sleep, then it's a good option for the rate (around US$ 30 for 2 pax a night). I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

This hotel has a very good location. Literally 30 seconds from the Zocalo. It's clean, modern and well runned but the rooms are around a central courtyard that brings all the noise from the hall to the rooms upstairs. We were at the fourth floor but we could hear noise, shoutings and laughings from the hall. Also there is some noise from the roof where some engine (probably fans for the airconditioning) are always on.
The room was very clean and each room comes with a security box (very helpful!!). The service was fine, no complains. Apparently the hot water is discontinuous, morning and late evening. But it's not a problem if you are a tourist all day visiting the city and coming back late.
About the staff, only one person was able to speak very good english, the others speaking only spanish. We do not reccomand the restaurant, both for breakfast and meals. You can find good other places around Mexico City.
In the end we reccomend this hotel to young people that want a cheap but clean hotel for few nights.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Azores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azores

Address: Republica de Brasil 25, Mexico City 00610, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 288 Hotels in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Azores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azores Hotel Mexico City
Hotel Azores Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Azores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.