We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big hotel, missing some key service points.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camino Real Pedregal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Camino Real Pedregal to your Saves list
Camino Real Pedregal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Periferico Sur 3647, Col Heroes De Padierna, Mexico City 10700, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 287 Hotels in Mexico City
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Big hotel, missing some key service points.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I use this hotel 5 times per year while visiting my customer in Pedregal, which is only 10 blocks away (MXN 100 by hotel taxi). The hotel is nice, with large rooms but they are missing several points which ruin your experience:

1. You need to pay for Internet access, which I am ok with. BUT you cannot use 2 devices with the same passcode, it is MAC address specific. So, laptop and Ipad? Pay twice. WHY?

2. You have a coffee machine in your room. But they will charge you for the coffee (awful BTW) and they will ask at check out: Did you drink our coffee?

3. Same with the bottled water. Have to pay for it.

4. Gym has no windows ... and is old.

5. Check in and Check out takes forever.

And finally, they have a funny way of numbering floors ... all floors have a 2 in front, so if you are going to the 9th floor, you are actually on Floor 29.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    28
    20
    29
See reviews for
12
14
6
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was using this hotel as it was convenient for the office location that I was visiting. It was a comfortable enough hotel and the rooms were clean and well serviced. They attended to my transport needs promptly and efficiently and I could charge hotel taxis to my room which is a bonus when you don´t want to get cash.

The mezzanine bar was well used for lunch and in the evening as I suspect it was more to do with a captive audience. That said the flank steak tacos I had were really very good.

My one frustration and pet hate is paying for wi-fi and being limited to three devices before paying double. So if you have an iPad, a phone, a lap top and a kindle you pay double for the internet.

I did feel sorry for the male receptionists who were dressed in some sort of pink trimmed Alice in Wonderland get up, poor buggers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It's a mystery to me why they put this hotel in the middle of nowhere - I thought the food was fine but the facilities are limited (confined to an out dated gym) and there's nothing close by. The rooms are clean but tatty eg cracked wash basin, missing electrical covers etc - nothing big but these contributed to an overall sense of general decline.

These may sound like petty gripes but some things are just weird;

- I had to have the concierge come up to unlock the minibar which had been unplugged so everything was warm;

- No milk or sugar supplied for the in room coffee; and

- Most irritating of all, the a/c switches itself off after every 10 minutes and you have to open the door to trip the sensor to turn it back on again. The combined resources of the Maintenance and Concierge staff couldn't figure out how to over ride this setting.

I'm all for conserving electricity and you don't need to leave the a/c running all day but there's got to be a better way of handling it than this.

The staff were polite etc, although their English was more limited than you usually find in international hotels but we got through that ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Not horrible. The rooms were decent and passed the bed-bug inspection. But there is nothing around. It is a long walk to any restaurants or shopping. The walk seemed safe but I would not do it at night. The restaurant onsite charged me a cover charge, which is insane. The food was awful! Check in staff was polite and well trained. Didn't try the Internet as I was pretty sure for a pay service it would be a disappointment. The AC in my room didn't work, and actually made my room hotter. As I was only staying one night I didn't bother trying to change rooms. I would not stay in this hotel again. Amenities like water and in-room coffe are very expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Booked the 'Club' real package, which is described on the website and in their printed room literature as having; Separate check-in area (NO THERE ISN'T), FREE evening drinks in NON EXISTENT LOUNGE (NO, it's 2 for 1, which EVERYONE gets, in the normal bar !), FREE continental breakfast in NON EXISTENT LOUNGE (NO, it's in the BICE restaurant and the freshness of the breads/rolls left a lot to be desired) & free internet (ONLY AFTER YOU ASK FOR IT TO BE TAKEN OFF THE BILL).

Agree with others, this is a very, very average hotel, hit 'n miss food and service in the restaurant (A Medium Rare filet was ordered, and it was REFRIGERATOR COLD IN THE MIDDLE).

Wi-fi was good and reliable, and bed was comfortable.

I could put up with it, if it means not spending hours in Mexico City traffic for business meetings, but only for 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

On the plus side, fast Internet, nice cantina style bar on the mezanine level, and above average food. However you have to pay for everything separately, and the hotel did not have a clean feeling w/ stains on the carpets and grimy bathrooms. I would use again only for the proximity to the office.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the camino pedregal for two weeks in relation to business and would not go back to this hotel. The area is bad and I was told not to walk around in the neighbourhood alone. Furthermore I think it's a bit too pricey and the service is not the worst but neither the best.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camino Real Pedregal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Pedregal

Address: Periferico Sur 3647, Col Heroes De Padierna, Mexico City 10700, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Pedregal 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Pedregal is near PERISUR mall 15 minutes away by car, where you can go shopping, go to the movies or enjoy the many types of restaurants . Pedregal Plaza has only different types of restaurants, by car is 15 minutes away Plaza Loreto is perfect for a nightlife, it is only 25 minutes away by car, it has different types of bars where you can enjoy walking to nowher with family or friends. We dont recommend walkint to nowhere cause places are not close. The BICE BISTRO Restaurant with international variety specializing in Italian food, open from Sunday to Monday from 6:00 a.M. To 1:00 a.M.. And Thursday to Saturday from 6am to 2am. WIFI FREE Maria Bonita is a Mexican food restaurant Bar open Monday to Saturday from 1pm to 1am. We have a fitness area open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Camino Real Pedregal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Pedregal Hotel Mexico City
Camino Real Pedregal Mexico City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camino Real Pedregal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.