We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Mexico City Centro Historico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Mexico City Centro Historico to your Saves list
NH Mexico City Centro Historico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palma, 42 Centro | Downtown, Mexico City 06010, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #36 of 295 Hotels in Mexico City
Certificate of Excellence
BRASILIA
Level Contributor
235 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We experienced no problems with this hotel. Quite the contrary. It´s location is unbeatable if you are interested in the old historic quarter of the city (National Palace, Rivera murals, Cathedral, Zocalo etc). Bedrooms smallish but clean and quiet, reception staff very helpful. The only slight gripe is that I could not find any European stations (such as BBC) on the TV. This seems to be a common problem in Mexican hotels. However apart from that this was a very pleasant three-day stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest:
I would like to thank you for the time you took to review your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico in Mexico City, we welcome your feedback and value the assessment of our hotel's installations and services.

My team and I appreciate the opportunity we had of being of service to you and will be glad to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico in the near future,

Sincerely,

Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    213
    75
    21
    7
See reviews for
89
203
47
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights. Mexico City is huge and this hotel in situated on the historical centre of the city (not the main business district).

Pros: It was very clean and the bed was very big, You are able to book tours through reception which was convenient. The wifi was free and had a strong signal. We caught a taxi there from the airport - 300 pesos - but the hotel organised a transfer for us (when we had to taxi back) for only 200 peso - which was great.
During our stay we had the need for a English speaking doctor - which the concierge organised & the doctor arrived very quickly and was very professional.

Cons: The room was small and darkish. The bathroom was quite small and you were only able to shower with a handheld shower attachment - making washing your hair very difficult!. No in-room fridge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Mr.

I would like to thank you for the time you took to write to us about your recent experience at the NH Centro Histórico hotel in Mexico City, I do value your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay.
Our aim is to provide our guests with excellent service, quality food and beverages and a comfortable room to rest.
My team and I would appreciate the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico and of being of service to you in the near future, I am sure we will exceed your expectations.
Sincerely
Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Pros: Situation in Mexico city, bed quality, cleanness, breakfast choice and quality when no rush.

Cons: We could not sleep at all the first night because of partying hotel neighbors next door, we had the reception to contact them in order to quiet them, which had almost no effect. We then asked to change room, which was no issue for the hotel, but we landed in a much smaller room (I think third the size of the original one), so that was not ideal, since the hotel didn't seem fully booked at all.
Breakfast is good but staff is easily pressed on rush hour and buffet was quite empty the second morning.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Mr.

I would like to thank you for the time you took to write to us about your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico hotel in Mexico City, I do value your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay.

The management staff and I are dedicated to offer the quality and standard of services you expect from a hotel like the NH Centro Histórico,

My team and I would appreciate the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico and of being of service to you in the near future, I am sure we will exceed your expectations. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I missed a flight and got stuck in Mexico City for the night. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay another night and check out more of the city. The hotel is very quiet, clean and comfortable, breakfast was quite good with lots of variety. The location is wonderful and very safe. We had a really great 2 night stay. WiFi occasionally slow. Lighting in room was modern but dim.

Room Tip: Room 417. View of building across street, not ugly or spectacular. Complimentary drinks provided in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for the time you took to review your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico in Mexico City, we welcome your feedback and value the assessment of our hotel's installations and services.

Our aim is to provide our guests with excellent service, quality food and beverages and a comfortable room. I am very happy that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

My team and I appreciate the opportunity we had of being of service to you and will be glad to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico in the near future,

Sincerely,

Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Our room was an odd shape - kind of a wedge, with one small window to the air shaft, making it very dark. I asked to change rooms and I was shown several others at the same price, which were really small. Our friend had booked a "suite", which was one room with a sitting area, but it cost more. The bathtub and shower in our room was an awkward climb over and in arrangement. Her bathroom was perfect. The restaurant upstairs serves a lovely buffet breakfast, but when we tried it for a light dinner after a long day of exploring, it was quite disappointing. Who can't make a club sandwich? The service was polite, and the location is great. Kind of a business hotel, and part of a chain which has much better hotels in other locations. You can do better than this, I am sure, but it was okay. Just okay.

Room Tip: Go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Miss:

I would like to thank you for the time you took to write to us about your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico hotel in Mexico City, I do value your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay.

The management staff and I are dedicated to offer the quality and standard of services you expect from a hotel like the NH Centro Histórico, and the deficiencies you mention are definitely not acceptable. I can assure you that steps have been taken to ensure these types of incidents do not occur again.

My team and I would appreciate the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico and of being of service to you in the near future, I am sure we will exceed your expectations. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Sincerely,

Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a reservation and when we arrived on Jan, 14th the receptionist told us, our room could be ready in 20 minutes, if we pay 500 Pesos in cash. Otherwise we would have to wait for hours. Never experienced this practice in any other hotel! Rooms are clean, but very small. For elder or handicapped people it might be difficult to take a shower, steps are very high.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
I would like to thank you for the time you took to write to us about your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico hotel in Mexico City, I do value your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay.
For me is very important comment that'll check the procedure of early check in order not to cause misunderstanding

My team and I would appreciate the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico and of being of service to you in the near future, I am sure we will exceed your expectations. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great location, really friendly staff and quick check in/out. Bar was closed and there were 'suspension' notices all over the place as they hadn't displayed their rates properly or something. The rooms were really small and very dark and a bit cold, but as to be expected given the location. I didn't really like the bathrooms as the showers were not too hot and it was difficult to get out of the bath. There were no headboards on the beds (singles) which I thought was a bit basic.

The breakfasts were pretty ok though and the location is good for sightseeing, although I think if I was staying again I would choose a hotel in the Zona Roma or Contesa as there are more restaurants and bars around there and the restaurants around NH Centro are touristy and bad food (but great views of the square).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Antonio S, Director General at NH Mexico City Centro Historico, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Miss:

I would like to thank you for the time you took to write to us about your recent experience at the NH Centro Historico hotel in Mexico City, I do value your feedback and apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay.

My team and I would appreciate the opportunity of being able to welcome you back to NH Centro Historico and of being of service to you in the near future, I am sure we will exceed your expectations. Once again, please accept our apologies.

Sincerely,
Antonio Sánchez
Hotel Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mexico City hotels
0.2 mi away
Zocalo Central
Zocalo Central
#18 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 635 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico
1.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
Hotel Plaza Revolucion
#35 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
NH Mexico City Reforma
NH Mexico City Reforma
#62 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 890 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Majestic
BEST WESTERN Majestic
#174 of 295 in Mexico City
3.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Marlowe
Hotel Marlowe
#78 of 295 in Mexico City
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Mexico City Centro Historico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Mexico City Centro Historico

Address: Palma, 42 Centro | Downtown, Mexico City 06010, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Mexico City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Mexico City
#24 Romantic Hotel in Mexico City
#49 Business Hotel in Mexico City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Mexico City Centro Historico 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Centro Historico is located in the heart of Mexico City, only a few steps away from the Zocalo (Main Square), the magnificent Metropolitan Cathedral, and the National Library. The hotel offers an ideal starting point to visit the majority of historic buildings and monuments in this capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, NHHotels, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your NH Mexico City Centro Historico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Centro Historico Hotel Mexico City
Nh Centro Historico Mexico City
NH Mexico City Centro Historico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Mexico City Centro Historico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.