We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A vegan/vegetarian's dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cate de mi Corazon

Cate de mi Corazon
Eje 3 Sur (Av. Baja California) 295 | Hipodromo, Cuauhtemoc, Mexico City 06100, Mexico
+52 44444768
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 2,010 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Cate de mi Corazon is a Mexican restaurant in the charming neighborhood La Condesa (corner with Nuevo Leon and Alfonso Reyes) that specializes in delicious tacos and traditional Mexican dishes and drinks. Our menu is a healthy option to taste the rich Mexican cuisine: our dishes are 100% vegetarian and vegan, prepared with fresh, locally sourced ingredients. Examples of our appetizing dishes include: our signature tortilla soup, tacos with red mole with Hibiscus, with huauzontle, mushrooms with achiote spice, traditional huitlacoche black mushroom with cheese, spicy spinach salad with cashew nuts and tofu, grilled nopales (Mexican cactus), mouthwatering deserts with cajeta, among others. We also offer a selection of hand-picked Mexican wines, artisanal beers from various Mexican states, artisanal mezcales from Oaxaca, tequila and other unique Mexican liquors. Cate de mi Corazon combines the classic and rustic with an exciting touch of modern innovation!
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A vegan/vegetarian's dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I encountered this little cafe in Condesa at the tale end of my trip and I was very sad that I had missed out on so many days of not eating there. The combinations of what the cooks can make with vegetables that are inspired by true Mexican cuisine is amazing. Getting recommendations from the waiters is the way to go. I had a great lentil soup to start and two individual tacos to order, one with mole and one with carrots and onions that was so good! The restaurant also serves Mexican craft beer along with other draft beers and other drinks. The name itself has a story behind it as it is a Mexican saying-- aqua pasa por mi casa y cate de mi corazon. It signifies aquacate or avocado. Yum!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome vegetarian food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I need to say it's quite hard to find great vegetarian or vegan food, but it's fantastic to find places like Cate... The food is amazing!! And mexican! I love mexican food and now I can eat it and enjoy it! Even my bf, that's not vegetarian, enjoyed it a lot, he loved huauzontles taco. Prices are just right we both ate with $100 pesos!! If you're mexican or not you should eat here, you'll love it! :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great little place for vegetarian tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Delicious little tacos in Mexico City! I wish more places had vegetarian offerings, but Cate de mi Corazon shows that a little creativity will go a long way!

This place is TINY - a few little tables inside, and a few tables on the sidewalk outside. We tried four different tacos and they were all excellent. They also have juices and craft beer.

Seemed to be populated by hipsters from Condesa - fun to see a different side of Mexico City!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A must for the vegetarian traveler.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was an excellent find. Traditional Mexican dining all vegetarian style. The food was great with loads of flavor and the staff was friendly and fun. Plus they have a great selection of Mexican craft beer too.They also have juice as well. Can't go wrong here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a cleansing ale and a vegan Taco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Don't miss out on coming here if you appreciate vegetarian, the food is so tasty and the service was really good. Try the red soup, it was exquisite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cate de mi Corazon also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cate de mi Corazon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cate de mi Corazon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.