We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pyramid of the Sun

Pyramid of the Sun
Avenue of the Dead, Mexico City, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 291 Attractions in Mexico City
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
pescara
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Incredible views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

It looks hard to climb but if you climb each step sideways (not as if you were climbing up a regular set of stairs) and keep climbing diagonally, you will notice that it is not that bad.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    73
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Memorable and Epic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Pyramids are quintessential and beautiful, as is the walk from pyramid to pyramid. It's easy to imagine the scene thousands of years ago when the Pyramids were the center of the town. How bustling it must have been! The downside of your visit is that, on a very hot day in Mexico City (on a day where you may not have acclimated yet to the higher altitude), climbing one of these babies can be daunting. The stairs are steep and tiring and, unlike historic attractions in the US, the pyramids are very hands on and railings off. You could easily get brushed off the side of a pyramid to your doom. Yet, that is the beauty of the situation: the photogenic-ness of the scene without a tangle of safety fences in your pictures, the endless opportunity to get the perfect shot of you in front of the sprawling ruins... free of modern adornments other than some ropes going up the stairs for you to grab. Don't feel obligated to get all the way to the top (although I'm sure it's a fantastic view). We made it halfway and there was a breeze and a sweeping view for us. In addition, mostly everyone is trying to get to the top, so there's not much competition on some of the side platforms — from which there are still very beautiful views to be had.

There is plenty to see at the pyramids: The Pyramid of the Sun, the Pyramid of the Moon, the surrounding ruins, the rock foundations of buildings past. There's also a bazaar that sells souvenirs and hats (because you will DEFINITELY need one due to the direct sun) and no shortage of peddlers approaching you (cue the Jaguar sound maker). You can also visit nearby museums which I hear are quite good or go to a local restaurant (a less touristy one if you wish).

Tips: Wear suncreen, wear comfortable shoes — whatever that might mean for you (since one misstep could be dire) — and avoid this place on Sunday. That's the day all the locals get in for free. Also, beware: Bathrooms are few and far between.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth the trip from the city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Amazing place. Walking through the compound and climbing to the top of the pyramids is a great memory for life.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pyramids amazing, hard sell of trinkets dismal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

5 of us booked this tour through our hotel conciege. It cost about £29. Took an hour to get to the sun and moon pyramids which were phenomenal. You can climb all the pyramids and surrounding buildings. The views are amazing, the architecture and history are incredible.
Part of our trip was to visit a silver works, maguey shop and tequila maker. Everything was very expensive and not to our taste. Necklaces were £80-90 upwards to £1000 (for silver). We didn't want or buy anything but the pressure to buy was ridiculous and our guide seemed quite our of sorts with us over it, I would say sulking!
I wouldn't hesitate to visit the pyramids again they were worth all the hassle but avoid the shop if possible.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Historically fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

It was beautiful and truly a wonder that an ancient civilization could construct such perfectly symmetrical and enormous pyramids given their crude tools. The vendors were aggressive and annoying.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pyramid of the Sun also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Pyramid of the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pyramid of the Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.