We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucha libre and cantinas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mexico City Urban Adventures - Day Tours

Mexico City Urban Adventures - Day Tours
Campeche 228-D, Mexico City 06140, Mexico
+52 55 2108 0103
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$36*
and up
Ranked #4 of 91 Activities in Mexico City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day tours, with a local Urban Adventures are the day tours with a difference! In just a few hours we get under the skin of the city you're visiting - so you know it like a local! In fact many of our travellers are locals - seeing their own city in a different way! We offer food tours, market tours, Teotihuacan pyramids tours, Lucha Libre tours and many other great experiences in Mexico City!
toronto
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lucha libre and cantinas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Very reasonable, very fun night out. Probably would not have ventured out to these spots un-accompanied by a local, but what a great experience. Wrestling 2 parts acting 1 part physical costumes interesting and always the technical "good guys" versus the bad guys. Crowd really gets into it.

After wrestling off to two cantinas the opera bar which feels and little down on its luck and then through a gauntlet of seedy looking characters to reach garibaldi square to see the mariachi bands. Apparently they gather there nightly. Got the feeling I was attending Elvis convention never saw so many guys in costume in my life. However, unlike Elvis impersonators these guys can really sing and play.

Our guide Mario was very helpful and a great guy to spend an evening with

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beyond Mexico City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic time and experience with our tour guides Milton and Juan Carlos who both spoke excellent English. The tour to Teotihuacan and the surrounding villages included visiting the famous Pyramid of the Sun and Pyramid of the Moon. As I am not a history buff Milton and Juan were able to explain the history and significance of this magnificent site in a way that was easy to understand and very captivating. After leaving the pyramids we walked to the neighboring village of St. Martin where we met three beautiful families. We sampled our 1st taste of pulque and were shown the many practical uses of cactus. We sampled many jams, salsa's and liquors made from the fruit and leaves of the cactus plant. Our last stop was a delicious dinner with a local family. Milton and Juan are both very knowledgeable and passionate and answered all our questions. They kept us entertained the whole time with many funny stories. At the end of the tour we felt we had made friends for life. It would not have been possible to have had such a wonderful experience on our own. I highly recommend Urban Adventures especially with Milton and/or Juan.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beyond Teotihuacan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked this tour on the recommendation of our B&B. It was fantastic.
We had Milton and Mario as our tour guides, both very knowledgable and friendly. My husband and I both got sick early in the tour (a previous meal) and they showed genuine concern and changed some elements to accommodate us. It is a testament to how fabulous it was that the tour is still the highlight of our time in Mexico city!
Catching public transport was a great way to see more of the city and the bus was still very comfortable. The pyramids were fantastic to see, more so because of the history provided.
We then visited locals with their products and Milton made it clear we were not obliged to buy anything as they got paid for showing us. It was a nice touch and did make us feel more comfortable. The meal we had with the local family was the best we had in Mexico city.
Only downside was that we did not have long enough in the city to do their other two tours!
Must do.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miltonstrasi, Tour Guide at Mexico City Urban Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion, it was our pleasure to show you around and is really nice to hear that it has been a highlight in your visit to Mexico City. We'll keep working in new products and social projects to support more locals so next time you come you can try them all. We know the public transportation sometimes is an issue for some people but in our concept we want to move just as locals do because we know that you can see and get closer to the local culture because in the end is the essence of traveling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic first day in Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We'd never been to Mexico before, and didn't know the language or culture. For our first day, we booked this day tour, to take public transport with a guide, travel to the sun & moon pyramids, visit a town that was further out from the city centre, and have dinner with a family in the town. It was the best idea. The whole day had a relaxed but very caring vibe - our guide was lovely and answered any questions we had, the whole time - and we quickly became friends with our tour buddies and laughed and chatted with them throughout the day.

The pyramids are amazing. The tour was great. And the tour guides are wonderful!

Visited September 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miltonstrasi, Tour Guide at Mexico City Urban Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hola!
Muchas gracias (thank you very much) for your opinion. It was a honor to introduce you a bit part of Mexico, we really hope the rest of your trip went well and we'll be waiting for your next visiti to show you other parts of this massive and diverse city. Tell your friends about it if they are visiting around here.

Big hug and we hope to see you again around here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great fun - the perfect introduction to Ciudad Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I signed up to do a single day-long tour to the Teotihuacan pyramids on our first day in Mexico City. As you will read, the tour involved a trip on the metro, a bus ride to the pyramids, a long stop for exploring, a walk through a local village and dinner with a family at their home. It was an excellent day. Milton, our host, was warm and enthusiastic and at the end of the day we felt like we had made friends so we signed up for the two other available tours which involved the Lucha Libre wrestling (an evening tour) and a morning at the markets. We were surprised to learn that we were the only two people registered for the wrestling tour but Urban Adventures arranged a guide for us anyway, which really impressed us. Our guide for this tour was Mario and we had a great time with him. His introduction to and narration of the wrestling was both essential and hilarious and we laughed a lot. Milton took our final tour of the markets but Mario came along for the ride. It was great to hang out with both of them one last time. Before the tour, I thought we might have been able to see the markets by ourselves but Milton took us to places that we would never have found on our own (the artwork of this tour was a highlight!). We were sad to say goodbye to Milton and Mario but we will be in touch.

I would recommend all of these tours to anybody. The hosts make you feel welcome in their city; they are obviously proud of it and it's a privilege to be shown around by them. The prices are very cheap and the experiences are all memorable. I wish there was Lucha Libre where I live in Australia!

Thanks again Milton and Mario.

Visited September 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miltonstrasi, Tour Guide at Mexico City Urban Adventures - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Hey James!

Thank you very much for your opinion, we had really good fun as well with you guys. We really enjoy to show places for curious travelers that are looking for more than a touristy tour and we're glad to hear that we're reaching our mission. As you said, we are trying to provide unique and original local experiences because for all the other attractions of the city sometimes you don't need a tour and you can make it by yourself...

See you next time amigos and we hope everything is going well back home, big hug!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico City Urban Adventures - Day Tours also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mexico City Urban Adventures - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexico City Urban Adventures - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.