We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food from Puebla!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelopolitano

Angelopolitano
Puebla 371 | Colonia Roma, Mexico City 06700, Mexico
+52 55 6391 2121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 1,960 Restaurants in Mexico City
Price range: $7 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Best food from Puebla!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Puebla is the Mexican state with the best food. Most recepies were invented in convents by nuns, like "mole".
This restaurant has the original recipes and great food. You need to try the "mole" in any of their versions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    19
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good mexican food in a nice traditional setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The service was excellent, the wine they proposed us was excellent and reasonable priced. We took the specialty of the house, a chili filled with meat and vegetables. Excellent. Altogether a very good dining experience in a nice simple setting but with a good atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a bohemian flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The chef is imaginative and most of the dishes are impeccable -- excellent fusion Mexican food.
The waiters are either inexperienced or senile -- but it only takes away a little from the greatness of the food and the site.
We were there in a Wednesday night and the place was empty -- a shame that more people don't decide to give this joint a try

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The best ever !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I come from Paris, and have been in so many mexican restaurants, but none like this.
The presentation of the dishes are simple awesome ! I had a lamb CHILE EN NOGADA and came in a perfect square shape! Amazing really, the prices is really chep, its a real must.
The service is so warm and kind, and the atmosphere is just great!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

When I saw that this place was getting great reviews on here I immediately made a reservation...unfortunately it did not live up to the hype. We had wanted to order wini cemitas, which were advertised on the website but we were told they did not have them. We ordered sopecitos and chalupitas for starters, the sopecitos were ok but the chalupitas were just bland. Halfway through eating our starters our main courses arrived :( we were taking it slow enjoying our margaritas so we had to ask them to bring the main dishes back until we had finished eating our starters, makes sense, right? anyway, when the mains arrived they were obviously luke warm. The flavors were ok but nothing amazing. At the end of dinner we wanted to order a drink, they did not have : baileys, sambuca, strega or liquor 43. We asked for a desert menu which we never got. When we went to pay it took 15 minutes because someone was using the phone and that was affecting the credit card terminal. All in all many things that need to be improved.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelopolitano also viewed

Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
Mexico City, Central Mexico and Gulf Coast
 

Been to Angelopolitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelopolitano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.